Monday, May 23

Formula 1 headed for historic title decider

For the first time since 2016, we will see a final race championship decider in Formula 1 at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi.

On that occasion, Nico Rosberg took home the title over his Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton, who is involved again, this time against Red Bull‘s Max Verstappen.

The two go into the weekend level on points knowing it is simply winner takes all for the 2021 championship, as Hamilton goes for number eight and Verstappen aims for his first.

There have been 28 previous last race deciders since F1‘s inception in 1950, and number 29 promises to be one of the most explosive in history.

Previous title deciders (Bold = Leader pre-race)

1950: Nino Farina beats Juan Manuel Fangio

1951: Juan Manuel Fangio beats Alberto Ascari and José Froilán González

1956: Juan Manuel Fangio beats Peter Collins, Stirling Moss and Jean Behra

1958: Mike Hawthorn beats Stirling Moss

1959: Jack Brabham beats Tony Brooks

1964: John Surtees beats Graham Hill and Jim Clark

1967: Denny Hulme beats Jack Brabham

1968: Graham Hill beats Jackie Stewart and Denny Hulme

1974: Emerson Fittipaldi beats Clay Regazzoni and Jody Scheckter

1976: James Hunt beats Niki Lauda

1980: Alan Jones beats Nelson Piquet

1981: Nelson Piquet beats Alan Jones, Jacques Laffite and Carlos Reutemann

1982: Keke Rosberg beats Didier Pironi and John Watson

1983: Nelson Piquet beats Alain Prost

1984: Niki Lauda beats Alain Prost

1986: Alain Prost beats Nigel Mansell

1994: Michael Schumacher beats Damon Hill

1996: Damon Hill beats Jacques Villeneuve

See also  COLA 2023 Prediction: Next year adjustment already stands at 3.9%

1997: Jacques Villeneuve beats Michael Schumacher

1998: Mika Hakkinen beats Michael Schumacher

1999: Mika Hakkinen beats Eddie Irvine

2003: Michael Schumacher beats Kimi Raikkonen

2006: Fernando Alonso beats Michael Schumacher

2007: Kimi Raikkonen beats Lewis Hamilton

2008: Lewis Hamilton beats Felipe Massa

2010: Sebastian Vettel beats Fernando Alonso, Mark Webber and Lewis Hamilton

2012: Sebastian Vettel beats Fernando Alonso

2016: Nico Rosberg beats Lewis Hamilton

This year’s championship decider will be the third to take place in Abu Dhabi, with Hamilton coming off second best on both previous occasions.

Verstappen will be hoping that trend continues in his first showdown, while Mercedes and Hamilton are praying for third time lucky.

Should neither finish the race, Verstappen would be champion by virtue of winning more races than Hamilton.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.