Sunday, June 26

FIFA announce host cities for the 2026 World Cup in the United States, Mexico & Canada

FIFA has announced the host cities for the 2026 World Cup in the United States, Mexico, and Canada.

16 cities have been picked from 22 contenders across the three nations. For Canada, this is the first time the country will host a men’s World Cup, with the United States hosting the tournament in 1994, and Mexico holding it in 1970 and 1986.

The 2026 World Cup will feature an expanded field of 48 teams for the first time in tournament history and is the first to be staged across three host nations.

As co-hosts, the USMNT will feature in their 11th World Cup after also making it to this year’s edition in Qatar having missed out on Russia 2018. Mexico will compete in their 17th World Cup and haven’t failed to qualify since 1990, while this will be Canada‘s third after making the tournament this year for the first time since 1986.

Here is the full list of 2026 World Cup host cities:

Chicago Fire FC v Seattle Sounders FCChicago Fire FC v Seattle Sounders FC

Seattle’s Lumen Field will host in 2026. / Abbie Parr/GettyImages

America v Pachuca - Playoffs Torneo Grita Mexico C22 Liga MXAmerica v Pachuca - Playoffs Torneo Grita Mexico C22 Liga MX

The World Cup is coming back to Mexico City. / Jam Media/GettyImages

Exteriors And LandmarksExteriors And Landmarks

Vancouver is one of two Canadian host cities. / Andrew Chin/GettyImages

Yael Averbuch West welcomed USMNT and Nashville SC Designated Player Walker Zimmerman for the latest episode of 90min’s Football Americana. As the World Cup fast approaches, the defender revealed what’s going on behind the scenes at recent USMNT camps – ahead of matches against Wales and England in Qatar. Zimmerman also spoke on the revolutionary CBA agreed upon by the US national teams and US Soccer, giving the USMNT’s side and perspective as the historic procedure went down. Subscribe to the series here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.