Monday, June 27

FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup – India: Group stage draw

The 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup group stage draw has been made, with 16 teams including hosts India discovering their fate for the final tournament in October.

India were originally slated to host the 2020 edition of the famous youth tournament, but Covid-19 saw it cancelled, with India chosen to host the 2022 tournament instead.

It is the first first that India will be competing in the finals of a Women’s FIFA World Cup tournament at any age level and the first time the country has hosted a FIFA women’s event.

China, Japan, New Zealand, USA, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Germany, Spain, France, Morocco, Nigeria and Tanzania were the other 15 teams in the draw.

Spain are reigning champions from the last tournament held in 2018.

Group A

Group B

Group C

Group D

The 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup will get underway in India on 11 October. The top two teams in each group after three games will progress to the quarter-finals of a straight knockout tournament, with the final scheduled for 30 October.


See also  ‘What is going on?’ – Teddy Sheringham slams rotten Man Utd and knows exactly who to blame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.