When is World Darts Championship 2024? Schedule, full draw, qualifying process, odds

The 31st edition of the World Darts Championship is heading for the 3,200-capacity Alexandra Palace at the end of 2023.

Thousands of fans watched the action in north London in 2022, when home player Michael Smith won his first world title.

Smith beat Michael van Gerwen 7–4 in the final, when he hit the only nine-dart finish of the tournament on his way to becoming world number one for the first time.

Here are the dates for the 2023/24 tournament, how each day looks, the format and the latest betting odds.

MORE: Michael van Gerwen’s net worth

When is the World Darts Championship taking place?

The contest for the Sid Waddell trophy will begin on December 15, 2023 and finish on January 3, 2024.

World Darts Championship 2024 schedule

All times are GMT.

Date Time Stage
Fri, Dec 15 7 p.m. First round, second round
Sat, Dec 16 12:30 p.m., 7 p.m. First round, second round
Sun, Dec 17 12:30 p.m., 8 p.m. First round, second round
Mon, Dec 18 7 p.m. First round, second round
Tues, Dec 19 12:30 p.m., 7 p.m. First round, second round
Weds, Dec 20 12:30 p.m., 7 p.m. First round, second round
Thurs, Dec 21 12:30 p.m., 7 p.m. Second round
Fri, Dec 22 12:30 p.m., 7 p.m. Second round
Sat, Dec 23 12:30 p.m., 7 p.m. Second round
Weds, Dec 27 12:30 p.m., 7 p.m. Third round
Thurs, Dec 28 12:30 p.m., 7 p.m. Third round
Fri, Dec 29 12:30 p.m. Third round
Fri, Dec 29 7 p.m. Third round, fourth round
Sat, Dec 30 12:30 p.m., 7 p.m. Fourth round
Mon, Jan 1 12:30 p.m., 7:30 p.m. Quarterfinals
Tues, Jan 2 7:30 p.m. Semifinals
Weds, Jan 3 8 p.m. Final

World Darts Championship 2024 draw

The 96 players have been split into four quarters, meaning they’ll be able to plot their route through to the final.

The top 32 seeded players join the tournament in the second round while the first round sees the 32 qualified Pro Tour players take on the international qualifiers.

Section One
(1) Michael Smith vs Kevin Doets or Stowe Buntz
(32) Madars Razma vs Mike De Decker or Dragutin Horvat
(16) Ross Smith vs Niels Zonneveld or Darren Webster
(17) Chris Dobey vs William O’Connor or Bhav Patel
(8) Rob Cross vs Mario Vandenbogaerde or Thibault Tricole
(25) Jose de Sousa vs Richie Edhouse or Jeffrey De Graaf
(9) Jonny Clayton vs Steve Lennon or Owen Bates
(24) Krzysztof Ratajski vs Jamie Hughes or David Cameron

Section Two
(4) Peter Wright vs Jim Williams or Norman Madhoo
(29) Raymond van Barneveld vs Radek Szaganski or Marko Kantele
(13) James Wade vs Matt Campbell or Lourence Ilagan
(20) Andrew Gilding vs Christian Kist or Luke Littler
(5) Gerwyn Price vs Connor Scutt or Krzysztof Kciuk
(28) Brendan Dolan vs Mickey Mansell or Xiaochen Zong
(12) Dirk van Duijvenbode vs Keegan Brown or Boris Krcmar
(21) Gary Anderson vs Simon Whitlock or Paolo Nebrida

Section Three
(2) Michael van Gerwen vs Keane Barry or Reynaldo Rivera
(31) Kim Huybrechts vs Richard Veenstra or Ben Robb
(15) Dimitri van den Bergh vs Dylan Slevin or Florian Hempel
(18) Stephen Bunting vs Ryan Joyce or Alex Spellman
(7) Danny Noppert vs Scott Williams or Haruki Muramatsu
(26) Martin Schindler vs Jermaine Wattimena or Fallon Sherrock
(10) Damon Heta vs Martin Lukeman or Haupai Puha
(23) Josh Rock vs Luke Woodhouse or Berry Van Peer

Section Four
(3) Luke Humphries vs Lee Evans or Sandro Eric Sosing
(30) Callan Rydz vs Ricardo Pietreczko or Mikuru Suzuki
(14) Joe Cullen vs Jules van Dongen or Darren Penhall
(19) Ryan Searle vs Ian White or Tomoya Goto
(6) Nathan Aspinall vs Ricky Evans or Simon Adams
(27) Daryl Gurney vs Steve Beaton or Wessel Nijman
(11) Dave Chisnall vs Cameron Menzies or Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
(22) Gabriel Clemens vs Gian Van Veen or Man Lok Leung

How does World Darts Championship qualifying work?

Of the 96 players in the championship, 32 qualify through being the highest ranked on organisers the Professional Darts Corporation’s (PDC) Order of Merit, and are seeded to the second round.

The next 32 participants consist of the highest ranked players from the 2023 PDC Pro Tour Order of Merit, with the final 32 qualifying through various international routes.

Hugely popular Fallon Sherrock, for example, qualified through the PDC Women’s Series. Sherrock became the first female player to win a match at the tournament during her run to the third round in 2019, earning her the nickname ‘Queen of the Palace’.

Luke Littler, meanwhile, has made it through the PDC Development Tour. Littler, who will not be 17 until January, is the youngest player to have won a match in the World Darts Federation’s World Darts Championship.

World Darts Championship format

After first and second-round matches that are best-of-five sets, the third and fourth rounds are best-of-seven.

The quarterfinals are best-of-nine sets, the semifinals best-of-11 sets and the final is best-of-13 sets. Players take it in turns to throw at the start of each set, which are won by the first player to take three legs.


World Darts Championship prize money

Hitting the big time in darts pays well. Organisers the Professional Darts Corporation have again allocated a prize of £500,000 to the winner, with the runner-up receiving £200,000 as part of a £2.5 million total prize fund.

Stage Prize money
Winner £500,000
Finalist £200,000
Semifinalist £100,000
Quarterfinalist £50,000
Round Four £35,000
Round Three £25,000
Round Two £15,000
Round One £7,500

World Darts Championship betting odds

Here’s how the pre-tournament favourites look with bookmakers.

Luke Humphries +380
Gerwyn Price +450
Michael van Gerwen +450
Michael Smith +800
Gary Anderson +1100
Rob Cross +1400
Nathan Aspinall +2500


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *