Germany at the Euros: All-time results, wins, record at UEFA European Championship

Germany will host the 2024 UEFA European Championship in what will be the first time they have staged the competition as a united nation after hosting it as West Germany in 1988.

Despite their reputation as serial winners, Germany are feeling the pressure ahead of the tournament after poor showings in their past three major competition appearances.

Successive group-stage exits at the 2018 and 2022 World Cups in Russia and Qatar came either side of a Round of 16 loss to England at Euro 2020, and the fans have grown restless.

The departure of  head coach Joachim Low in 2021 saw Hansi Flick take charge of the top job, but the former Bayern Munich coach has since been replaced by Julian Nagelsmann, becoming the first man ever to be fired from the role.

Nagelsmann has only managed one win from four games in charge, though, and Germany will be desperately seeking a resolution to their underperformance before the big kickoff in June 2024.

MORE: Who has qualified for Euro 2024?

How did Germany qualify for Euro 2024?

Germany were assured of their place at Euro 2024 as per UEFA rules on automatic qualification for single-nation hosts. However, with no competitive action on the agenda for Flick or Nagelsmann, Germany have played a mammoth list of friendly games in 2023.

After securing just one friendly win in seven matches, Flick was dismissed from his post in September, and Nagelsmann has fared only slightly better, with one win from four before the end of 2023.

How many times have Germany won the Euros?

Germany are the joint most successful team in European Championship history with three wins since its inaugural tournament in 1960. Their first two titles came as West Germany, including a superb victory in their first ever appearance in the competition in 1972.

Two goals from the great Gerd Muller sealed a 3-0 win over the Soviet Union in Brussels, but they came up short in a European defence four years later, losing to Czechoslovakia in the 1976 final on penalties.

They bounced back to reclaim the title in 1980, beating Belgium in Rome, but they would not win it again until 1996. A famous penalty shootout victory over hosts England in the Euro 96 semifinals set Berti Vogts’ team on course for revenge as they edged out an extra-time victory over the Czech Republic in the final.

Germany European Championship results

Germany have qualified for every European Championship since 1972 and have reached the knockout stages in 10 of those 13 successive appearances. Below is a breakdown of their results at the tournament.

Year Host Wins Draws* Losses Goals Scored Goals Conceded
1972 Belgium 2 0 0 5 1
1976 Yugoslavia 1 1 0 6 4
1980 Italy 3 1 0 6 3
1984 France 1 1 1 2 2
1988 West Germany 2 1 1 6 3
1992 Sweden 2 1 2 7 8
1996 England 4 2 0 10 3
2000 Belgium/Netherlands 0 1 2 1 5
2004 Portugal 0 2 1 2 3
2008 Austria/Switzerland 4 0 2 10 7
2012 Poland/Ukraine 4 0 1 10 6
2016 France 3 2 1 7 3
2020 Europe 1 1 2 6 7

*Draws include knockout-stage games decided by penalty shootouts level after 90 minutes plus 30 minutes of extra time.

Germany European Championship record

Year Host Stage Reached Eliminated By
1960 France Did not enter
1964 Spain Did not enter
1968 Italy Did not qualify
1972 Belgium Champions
1976 Yugoslavia Runners Up Czechoslovakia
1980 Italy Champions
1984 France Group Stage Spain/Portugal
1988 West Germany Semifinal Netherlands
1992 Sweden Runners Up Denmark
1996 England Champions
2000 Belgium/Netherlands Group Stage Portugal/Romania
2004 Portugal Group Stage Czech Republic/Netherlands
2008 Austria/Switzerland Runners Up Spain
2012 Poland/Ukraine Semifinal Italy
2016 France Semifinal France
2020 Europe Round of 16 England


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *