Italy at the Euros: All-time results, wins, record at UEFA European Championship

Italy face a difficult task as they aim to defend their European Championship title at Euro 2024 in Germany.

Luciano Spalletti replaced Roberto Mancini mid-way through Italy’s qualifying campaign and the former Napoli boss faces a battle to turn Italy into realistic challengers for another European crown before next summer.

Since winning the Euro 2020 final — via a penalty shootout final win over England at Wembley — Italy have struggled for consistency and they failed to qualify for the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

However, Spalletti will be hoping to revive the old cliché of Italy being a ‘tournament team’ and hit form at the perfect point. 

MORE: Who has qualified for Euro 2024?

How did Italy qualify for Euro 2024?

Italy sealed qualification by the narrowest of margins as they finished in second place in Group C in behind old foes England. 

After losing home and away against Gareth Southgate’s side, Spaletti’s charges ended the campaign locked in a tight battle with Ukraine, which was only settled in the final round of matches.

Mykhailo Mudryk was dramatically denied a penalty in added time when he was tripped by Bryan Cristante and the holders eventually edged over the line by virtue of a superior head-to-head record.

How many times have Italy won the Euros?

Italy’s title win at Euro 2020 was the second time they have been crowned champions of Europe.

After powering through their group with three wins from three, Mancini steered his team past Austria, Belgium and Spain in the knockouts, before ending England’s hopes in the final.

Their previous title came as hosts in 1968, when the finals were a four-team knockout tournament.

See also  Where to watch Barcelona vs Mallorca live stream, TV channel, lineups, prediction for La Liga match

Italy European Championship results

Despite their recent World Cup qualification struggles, Italy’s overall European Championship record is very strong, with three appearances in the final in the past six tournaments.

Year Host Wins Draws* Losses Goals Scored Goals Conceded
1968 Italy 1 2 0 3 1
1980 Italy 1 3 0 2 1
1988 West Germany 2 1 1 4 3
1996 England 1 1 1 3 3
2000 Belgium/Netherlands 4 1 1 9 4
2004 Portugal 1 2 0 3 2
2008 Austria/Switzerland 1 2 1 3 4
2012 Poland/Ukraine 2 3 1 6 7
2016 Poland/Ukraine 3 0 2 9 5
2020 Europe 4 0 1 9 3

*Draws include knockout-stage games decided by penalty shootouts level after 90 minutes plus 30 minutes of extra time.

Italy European Championship record

Year Host Stage Reached Eliminated By
1960 France Did not enter
1964 Spain Did not qualify
1968 Italy Champions
1972 Belgium Did not qualify
1976 Yugoslavia Did not qualify
1980 Italy Semifinal Czechoslovakia
1984 France Did not qualify
1988 West Germany Semifinal Soviet Union
1992 Sweden Did not qualify
1996 England Group Stage Germany/Czech Republic
2000 Belgium/Netherlands Runners Up France
2004 Portugal Group Stage Sweden/Denmark
2008 Austria/Switzerland Quarterfinal Spain
2012 Poland/Ukraine Runners Up Spain
2016 France Quarterfinal Germany
2020 Europe Champions


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *