Spain at the Euros: All-time results, wins, record at UEFA European Championship


Spain will be looking to revive memories of past glories as they head to Euro 2024 in Germany.

La Roja bowed out of the 2022 FIFA World Cup at the Round of 16 stage with head coach Luis Enrique subsequently leaving his role.

The Spanish FA moved quickly to promote Under-21 boss Luis de la Fuente as his replacement ahead of the start of qualification for Euro 2024.

De la Fuente is under less pressure than previous Spain coaches, with his squad lacking the established star names of former years, but the two-time winners will still be expectant of a strong performance.

They finished top of qualifying Group A ahead of Scotland, winning seven of their eight matches, their sole blip coming in a 2-0 loss in Glasgow back in March. That’s the only game they have failed to win since the World Cup, and that run included triumph in the UEFA Nations League this year.

MORE: Who has qualified for Euro 2024?

How did Spain qualify for Euro 2024?

Spain found themselves locked in an unexpected battle with Scotland for top spot in Group A during qualifying. After losing their opening game in Glasgow, De la Fuente’s side needed to rally in the second half of 2023.

Seven successive wins saw them overhaul Scotland, who ended up in second place in the group, as Erling Haaland’s Norway missed out completely.

How many times have Spain won the Euros?

Spain have won two European Championships throughout their international history: in 2008, and 2012.

Italy have also won two, with Germany and France racking up three each, but Spain hold the proud record of being the only national team to defend a European title.

The double win came either side of their first World Cup glory as La Roja lifted the 2010 FIFA trophy in South Africa thanks to Andres Iniesta’s extra-time winner over the Netherlands in the final.

Three major titles in a row cemented Spain’s spot as one of the finest national teams ever, putting them alongside the likes of iconic Brazil sides on the big stage.

Fernando Torres’ goal sealed a final win over Germany in 2008, but the 2012 final was a showpiece of Spain’s brilliance, as they hammered Italy 4-0.

Spain European Championship results

Spain sealed the 1964 European Championship title as hosts in their first appearance in the competition. Despite a mixed return in the following decades, they have qualified for the past seven Euros, reaching the knockouts in six of them.

Year Host Wins Draws* Losses Goals Scored Goals Conceded
1964 Spain 2 0 0 4 2
1980 Italy 0 1 2 2 4
1984 France 1 3 1 4 5
1988 West Germany 1 0 2 3 5
1996 England 1 3 0 4 3
2000 Belgium/Netherlands 2 0 2 7 7
2004 Portugal 1 1 1 2 2
2008 Austria/Switzerland 5 1 0 12 3
2012 Poland/Ukraine 4 2 0 12 1
2016 France 2 0 2 5 4
2020 Europe 2 4 0 13 6

*Draws include knockout-stage games decided by penalty shootouts level after 90 minutes plus 30 minutes of extra time.

Spain European Championship record

Year Host Stage Reached Eliminated By
1960 France Withdrew β€”
1964 Spain Champions β€”
1968 Italy Did not qualify β€”
1972 Belgium Did not qualify β€”
1976 Yugoslavia Did not qualify β€”
1980 Italy Group Stage Belgium/Italy
1984 France Runners Up France
1988 West Germany Group Stage West Germany/Italy
1992 Sweden Did not qualify β€”
1996 England Quarterfinal England
2000 Belgium/Netherlands Quarterfinal France
2004 Portugal Group Stage Portugal/Greece
2008 Austria/Switzerland Champions β€”
2012 Poland/Ukraine Champions β€”
2016 France Round of 16 Italy
2020 Europe Semifinal Italy



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *