NFL MVP Betting Odds 2023-24 Season – Brock Purdy a step closer to making history but Dak Prescott stands in his way

A solid performance against the Eagles in Week 13 sent the NFL MVP odds of 49ers QB Brock Purdy to the top of NFL MVP betting boards. However, while Purdy had a stellar outing against the Seahawks, he is no longer the betting favorite.

That distinction belongs to Cowboys QB Dak Precott .

When betting on NFL MVP odds, the more information you can gather, the better. See below for how to bet on the 2023-24 NFL MVP at the best sports betting sites

Latest NFL MVP odds

Here are the latest odds to win NFL MVP from the top NFL betting sites. Click on a player’s odds to visit the corresponding sportsbook, claim your bonus, and bet.

Who are the NFL MVP odds favorites?

It is not unusual for NFL MVP odds to shift from one week to the next throughout the season as contenders rise and fall. Quarterbacks often tend to be the focus of MVP discussions every season, and this year is no different. 

Here are a few of the top contenders for this year’s award.

Dak Prescott, QB, Dallas Cowboys

The Cowboys got another solid performance out of their quarterback in Week 14’s 33-13 win over the Philadelphia Eagles on SNF. With two touchdowns, it was Prescott’s seventh consecutive game with multiple TD passes and his fourth in a row without an interception.

But with two big road games coming up, at Bills and at Dolphins, the bubble could be about to burst for Prescott and the Cowboys. Or he could put the finishing touches on his MVP resume.

Brock Purdy, QB, San Francisco 49ers

Brock Purdy could become the first Mr. Irrelevant (final pick of the draft) to earn NFL MVP honors if he goes on to win the award. But with a relatively easy schedule down the stretch, he may need Dak Prescott to stumble to do so.

He’ll have one more chance to make a statement in a couple of weeks when his 49ers host the Baltimore Ravens in a potential Super Bowl 58 preview.

Tyreek Hill, WR, Miami Dolphins

He is the betting favorite to win Offensive Player of the Year and is on track to become the first wide receiver to surpass 2,000 receiving yards in a single season. But his absence Monday night in Miami’s loss to the Titans shows how valuable he is.

NFL MVP has become a predominantly QB award, but if there is a position player that could be worthy, it’s Hill. He’ll likely need Purdy, Prescott, and a few other quarterbacks to falter down the stretch to have a shot, but he’s a solid longshot at this point in the season

Best sportsbooks for NFL MVP odds 

Below are a few of the best sports betting apps known for their NFL MVP betting options.

  • DraftKings Sportsbook: DraftKings has a huge variety of NFL betting options. It has outstanding customer service, competitive NFL lines, and frequent NFL bonuses & promotions designed for new and existing customers. 
  • FanDuel Sportsbook: FanDuel offers competitive odds for all its NFL bets, including moneylines, point spreads, totals & futures. FanDuel is also known for an impressive spread of prop bets covering every major sport. 
  • BetMGM Sportsbook: A reliable sportsbook that offers an easy-to-use betting app, BetMGM also has a nice range of NFL prop bets, futures bets, parlays, and competitive NFL betting odds for every major bet type. 
  • Caesars Sportsbook: Caesars is a popular choice nationwide thanks to its recognizable gambling brand. You’ll find competitive lines and an extensive choice of every NFL bet type. Caesars also offers odds boosts for existing customers, especially for Super Bowl betting lines

Past NFL MVP winners

Some of football’s most outstanding players have won Most Valuable Player honors. Here’s a list of NFL MVP winners from the past decade or so. 

  • 2022: Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City Chiefs)
  • 2021: Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers)
  • 2020: Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers)
  • 2019: Lamar Jackson (Baltimore Ravens)
  • 2018: Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City Chiefs)
  • 2017: Tom Brady (New England Patriots)
  • 2016: Matt Ryan (Atlanta Falcons)
  • 2015: Cam Newton (Carolina Panthers)
  • 2014: Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers)
  • 2013: Peyton Manning (Denver Broncos)
  • 2012: Adrian Peterson (Minnesota Vikings)
  • 2011: Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers)
  • 2010: Tom Brady (New England Patriots)

Who chooses the NFL MVP? 

The National Football League’s MVP is chosen by the AP, also known as the Associated Press. The news organization uses a committee of 50 sportswriters who each vote for their MVP pick that season.

The MVP is determined by which player received the most total votes from the committee. The group of 50 voters varies by year, though there are plenty of recurring committee members. 

In 2022, according to Pro Football Reference, Patrick Mahomes was given 48 first-place votes—a whopping 98 percent of total first-place ballots—while Jalen Hurts and Josh Allen received one first-place vote each.

When is the NFL MVP announced? 

The NFL MVP Award is given annually at the NFL Honors ceremony, held the night before the Super Bowl.

The event also involves anointing other major award winners, such as Coach of the Year, Offensive Player of the Year, and Defensive Player of the Year. 

The voting for annual NFL awards takes place after the regular season but before postseason play. 

How do you bet on NFL MVP? 

Betting on the National Football League MVP is easy and very common among NFL bettors. For context, NFL futures odds typically concern a long-term outcome, and the lines for the next NFL MVP are usually released soon after the previous year’s Super Bowl concludes.

At that point, you will discover the odds are quite long because you’re essentially guessing who could win the award a full year in advance. As the next NFL season draws near, the odds tighten due to the availability of additional information, news, preseason play, and other factors used by oddsmakers to calculate lines.

Once regular-season games are underway, the lines will narrow even more as clear favorites begin to emerge.

As a bettor, you need to weigh the risk vs. reward of betting early or waiting for the picture to become clearer. If you’re comfortable taking some less educated guesses, then feel free to bet early. You stand a good chance of winning a significant return on your wager if you choose correctly. 

Not all bettors are keen on such risk, however. Those who aren’t should consider waiting until more information, data, and news become available to make a more informed bet on the next NFL MVP. That will reduce the potential profit but also the risk.

See more: How to bet on the NFL

What other NFL awards can I bet on? 

While the Most Valuable Player Award stands out as a popular NFL futures bet, several other awards are available for betting at top NFL betting sites

For example, the Offensive Player of the Year Award rewards the most prolific and explosive offensive player from that year. You’ll notice receivers and running backs are much more likely to win this honor than MVP, which has vastly favored quarterbacks in recent years.

On the other side of the ball, Defensive Player of the Year is another popular NFL futures market.

There are a couple of specific awards for rookies new to the National Football League. Offensive Rookie of the Year and Defensive Rookie of the Year odds are available to bettors throughout the regular season and awarded to the players with the most influence on their teams in their first-ever NFL season. 

There are also betting opportunities for Comeback Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Offensive  Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year.

Additional Pages:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *