Teams in FIFA Club World Cup 2023: Which clubs have qualified for FIFA events in 2023 and 2025?

The FIFA Club World Cup 2023 presents a chance for a team to push for the top honour in domestic world football at the end of the year.

The tournament pits the continental tournaments winners from FIFA’s main federations as part of a mini-competition to determine the world champion.

Despite criticism over their lack of planning for previous tournaments, FIFA have risked further rows with clubs, ahead of a string of changes for the 2025 competition.

The 2023 showdown will be the final edition of the current format with major expansions planned in the next two years.

MORE: Real Madrid win record fifth FIFA Club World Cup – as it happened

When is the next FIFA Club World Cup 2023?

The FIFA Club World Cup 2023 takes place from December 12 to December 22, 2023.

UEFA have confirmed they will not alter the Champions League and domestic league schedules for the games but other federations could make changes.

Where is the next FIFA Club World Cup 2023?

FIFA have moved the FIFA Club World Cup to Saudi Arabia in 2023, for the first time in the nation’s history, as part of their bid to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup.

Teams qualified for FIFA Club World Cup 2023

As per the 2023 qualification rules, seven teams will play at the FIFA Club World Cup 2023, including six continental champions.

UEFA Champions League holders Manchester City are the favourites to win the title.

Saudi Pro League Al Ittihad qualified as the hosts’ representative, with Japanese side Urawa Red Diamonds claiming the AFC spot, as AFC Champions League winners.

Mexican side Club Leon qualified as CONCACAF Champions League winners, while Auckland City of New Zealand made the trip to the Middle East as winners of the OFC Champions League.

Egyptian Premier League side Al Ahly beat Moroccan opponents Wydad 3-2 on aggregate to go through from the CAF Champions League.

Fluminense continued Brazil’s recent domination of the Copa Libertadores with a 2-1 extra-time win over Boca Juniors at the Maracana to claim the final spot.

  • Al Ittihad (Hosts)
  • Manchester City (UEFA Champions League winners)
  • Urawa Red Diamonds (AFC Champions League winners)
  • Club Leon (CONCACAF Champions League winners)
  • Auckland City (OFC Champions League winners)
  • Al Ahly (CAF Champions League winners)
  • Fluminense (CONMEBOL Copa Libertadores winners)

FIFA Club World Cup 2023 format

The first round pitted Al Ittihad against Auckland City as the OFC representative are the lowest-ranked confederation involved.

Urawa Red Diamonds, Club Leon and the CAF (Africa) Champions League winners joined the winner of that match in the second round.

Manchester City and Fluminense come in at the semifinal stage with all games following a straight knockout format.

If any match is tied after 90 minutes of regulation time, 30 minutes of extra time will follow, with the potential for a penalty shootout, if there is no breakthrough.

Changes for FIFA Club World Cup 2025

The 2023 tournament will be the last in its current format. From 2025, a new, expanded version will be staged, the first of which will take place in the United States from June 15 to July 13, 2025.

The decision to increase the number of teams involved to 32 has been met with a backlash from clubs, fans and domestic leagues, disrupted by a widened field. However, FIFA said in December 2023: “These dates have been set to ensure that the scheduling of the tournament is harmoniously aligned with the International Match Calendar to allow sufficient time between the tournament final and the start of the season in many domestic leagues globally, and considering that a minimum of three days of rest between matches should be guaranteed in order to safeguard player welfare.”

As part of the altered qualification, the four previous champions of the AFC, CAF, CONCACAF and UEFA Champions League will still qualify, alongside big increases for European and South American teams.

UEFA have been offered 12 slots, with CONMEBOL given six.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *