How the Champions League draw works: Rules, format, regulations for teams in Round of 16 onwards

The 2023/24 Champions League will effectively move into a winter break from mid-December to mid-February, with the group stages now complete.

The 16 teams that have qualified directly from the group stages go into the knockout Round of 16, with eight dropping into the Europa League Round of 16 playoffs, and eight eliminated from European competition for 2024.

The focus will switch to domestic action as 2023 moves into 2024 but the Champions League Round of 16 draw will provide one final teaser for new year ahead.

The Sporting News has all the key information on the Round of 16 draw, knockout stage rules and qualified teams.

MORE: Teams out of Champions League group stage 2023/24: Which clubs have been eliminated?

When is the Champions League Round of 16 draw?

The draw for the Round of 16 will be made at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland on Monday, December 18, 2023 at 12 noon CET (6 a.m. ET).

The teams will be divided into group winners and second-place finishers, with each runner-up drawn against a group winner.

What time is the Champions League Round of 16 draw?

Here’s how that all-important draw start time translates across some of the major territories around the globe:

  Date Kickoff time
USA Mon, Dec. 18 6 a.m. ET
Canada Mon, Dec. 18 6 a.m. ET
UK Mon, Dec. 18 11 a.m. GMT
Australia Mon, Dec. 18 10 p.m. AEDT
India Mon, Dec. 18 4:30 p.m. IST
Hong Kong Mon, Dec. 18 7 p.m. HKT
Malaysia Mon, Dec. 18 7 p.m. MYT
Singapore Mon, Dec. 18 7 p.m. SGT
New Zealand Tue, Dec. 19 12 a.m. NZDT

Champions League Round of 16 draw live stream, TV channel

UEFA have confirmed the Round of 16 draw will be streamed live on UEFA.com.

Broadcast and streaming details for individual countries will be confirmed closer to the draw date.

How does the Champions League Round of 16 draw work?

The Round of 16 draw places the group stage winners as seeded teams and the group stage runners up as unseeded ahead of the draw.

Each pairing will involve a two-legged straight knockout clash with the quarterfinal, semifinal and final draw made on March 15, 2024.

Rules, format for Champions League knockout stages

As a seeded team, the group stage winner will play their second leg game at home, as a reward for finishing top of their group.

As part of the Round of 16 draw, teams from the same association or from the same group in the previous round cannot play each other.

However, those two rules are removed from the quarterfinals onwards, with two teams from the same country no longer granted separate paths.

Champions League Round of 16 qualified teams 2023/24

The table below is the confirmed list of teams who have qualified for the 2023/24 UEFA Champions League Round of 16.

Team Date progressed Group
Manchester City (ENG) Nov. 7 Group G
RB Leipzig (GER) Nov. 7 Group G
Bayern Munich (GER) Nov. 8 Group A
Real Madrid (SPA) Nov. 8 Group C
Real Sociedad (SPA) Nov. 8 Group D
Inter Milan (ITA) Nov. 8 Group D
Atletico Madrid (SPA) Nov. 28 Group E
Lazio (ITA) Nov. 28 Group E
Borussia Dortmund (GER) Nov. 28 Group F
Barcelona (SPA) Nov. 28 Group H
Arsenal (ENG) Nov. 29 Group B
PSV (NED) Nov. 29 Group B
FC Copenhagen (DEN) Dec. 12 Group A
Napoli (ITA) Dec. 12 Group C
PSG (FRA) Dec. 13 Group F
Porto (POR) Dec. 13 Group H

Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *