Coaches with most FIFA Club World Cup wins: All-time list of most successful managers as Guardiola eyes history


Manchester City’s 2022/23 season ended with a historic trophy treble as Pep Guardiola’s side lifted the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League trophies.

Victory in the Champions League final over Inter Milan finally secured a first European title for Guardiola since his arrival in Manchester in 2016 and a third in total.

As part of their success in the Champions League, City have since been selected as UEFA’s representative at the 2023 FIFA Club World Cup in Saudi Arabia.

The tournament kicked off on December 12, with City joining at the semifinal stage a week later, and Guardiola could be in line for another historical record.

MORE: Club World Cup 2023: Fixtures, results, schedule for FIFA world championship tournament featuring Man City

Have Manchester City won the Club World Cup?

The 2023 triumph marked City’s first-ever Champions League title win with the club’s only other European honour coming in the 1970 UEFA European Cup Winners’ Cup.

As the European spot at the Club World Cup is given to the Champions League winner from the previous season, this is City’s debut at the tournament.

Pep Guardiola Club World Cup titles

Despite City’s lack of experience in the tournament, Guardiola has been on this stage multiple times before.

Guardiola has won the tournament three times, with a 100% record, including two titles with Barcelona and one with Bayern Munich.

His incredible Barcelona team beat Argentinian side Estudiantes in the 2009 final, and cruised past Brazil’s Santos in 2011, with Lionel Messi scoring in both finals.

The 2013 final pitted Guardiola’s Munich side against Moroccan outfit Raja Casablanca β€” after his predecessor Jupp Heynckes won the Champions League the season before β€” the current City boss sealed a third win.

FIFA Club World Cup winning coaches

Guardiola is one of two coaches to have won the Club World Cup three times alongside Real Madrid boss Carlo Ancelotti. 

Ancelotti has matched Guardiola by winning it with two different teams, in AC Milan and Real Madrid, with Zinedine Zidane the only manager to win successive titles, as he lifted the trophy with Los Blancos in 2016 and 2017.

Rafael Benitez has matched Guardiola and Ancelotti’s record of three final appearances, but his sole win came with Inter Milan in 2010, either side of losing out with Liverpool (2005) and Chelsea (2012).

Benitez is on a list of 11 managers with one title including Sir Alex Ferguson, Jurgen Klopp, Thomas Tuchel and Luis Enrique.

Club World Cup winning coaches
Manager Nationality No. of Titles Club(s) Winners Years Won
Carlo Ancelotti ITA 3 AC Milan, Real Madrid 2007 (AC Milan), 2014, 2022 (Real Madrid)
Pep Guardiola SPA 3 Barcelona, Bayern Munich 2009, 2011 (Barcelona), 2013 (Bayern Munich)
Zinedine Zidane FRA 2 Real Madrid 2016, 2017
Rafael Benitez SPA 1 Inter Milan 2010
Oswaldo de Oliveira BRA 1 Corinthians 2000
Paulo Autuori BRA 1 Sao Paulo 2005
Abel Braga BRA 1 Internacional 2006
Sir Alex Ferguson SCO 1 Man United 2008
Tite BRA 1 Corinthians 2012
Luis Enrique SPA 1 Barcelona 2015
Santiago Solari ARG 1 Real Madrid 2018
Jurgen Klopp GER 1 Liverpool 2019
Hansi Flick GER 1 Bayern Munich 2020
Thomas Tuchel GER 1 Chelsea 2021

List of FIFA Club World Cup winners

Real Madrid are the most successful team in Club World Cup history β€” since the inaugural tournament was held in 2000 β€” with five titles for the Spanish giants in six appearances.

Barcelona have won three, under Guardiola and Enrique, with two each for Corinthians and Bayern Munich.

Club World Cup Winning Teams
Club No. of titles Years Won
Real Madrid 5 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2022
Barcelona 3 2009, 2011, 2015
Bayern Munich 2 2013, 2020
Corinthians 2 200, 2012
Liverpool 1 2019
Chelsea 1 2021
Sao Paulo 1 2005
Internacional 1 2006
AC Milan 1 2007
Man United 1 2008
Inter Milan 1 2010



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *