Why is there no Club World Cup in 2024? FIFA tournament changes ahead of 2025 competition

The FIFA Club World Cup will undergo some major changes following the completion of its 2023 tournament as part of ambitious expansion plans from the world governing body.

FIFA confirmed in 2022 they had approved plans to increase the number of teams competing in the Club World Cup from seven to 32 from 2025 onwards.

The move has been met with criticism from multiple sources with players union FIFPro claiming they were not consulted by FIFA over the move with extra games added to an already busy club and international season calendar.

Despite the objections, FIFA plan to go ahead with the new format in 2025, as part of the wider build up to the 2026 FIFA World Cup, held jointly in the USA, Canada and Mexico.

MORE: 2023 FIFA Club World Cup fixtures and results

Why is there no FIFA Club World Cup in 2024?

The primary reason to opt against a FIFA Club World Cup in 2024 is to allow club teams to prepare for the increased competition in 2025 and use it as a World Cup test for the 2026 host countries.

The USA will host the 2025 Club World Cup, and the removal of a 2024 tournament allows World Cup organisers an extra year to get in position to host it, and allows for a break for club sides in a year that will also include Euro 2024.

FIFA Club World Cup changes from 2025

The move to increase Club World Cup entrants to 32 is a bold step from FIFA at a time where major clubs are becoming increasingly frustrated at their lack of involvement in these types of decisions from the football’s governing body.

Alongside the added number of teams, FIFA have also confirmed the tournament will no longer be held annually – it will be staged every four years instead.

Qualification rules will also be amended, with UEFA granted 12 spots alongside six for CONMEBOL and four each for CONCACAF, the OFC and AFC.

For Europe, the winners of the 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024 Champions League will be entered, with Chelsea, Real Madrid and Manchester City already selected.

The remaining places will be decided by the best UEFA coefficient finishers with the tournament itself featuring a group stage of eight groups of four teams with the top two per group qualifying for the direct knockout phase.

List of FIFA Club World Cup winners

Real Madrid are the most successful team in FIFA Club World Cup history — since the inaugural competition took place in 2000 — with five titles in six appearances for the Spanish giants.

La Liga rivals Barcelona have won three, under Pep Guardiola and Luis Enrique, with two each for Corinthians and Bayern Munich.

Club World Cup Winning Teams
Club No. of titles Years Won
Real Madrid 5 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2022
Barcelona 3 2009, 2011, 2015
Bayern Munich 2 2013, 2020
Corinthians 2 2000, 2012
Liverpool 1 2019
Chelsea 1 2021
Sao Paulo 1 2005
Internacional 1 2006
AC Milan 1 2007
Man United 1 2008
Inter Milan 1 2010


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *