Who won the Australian Open last year? Men’s and women’s 2023 singles champions

The latest edition of the Australian Open is quickly approaching as the 2024 tennis season heats up Down Under.

Novak Djokovic will be aiming to secure yet another Grand Slam title in Australia, while the women’s singles draw looks enticingly open. 

Whose footsteps will this year’s champions be following in?

Here’s who won last time out and a list of former victors at Melbourne Park.

MORE: Who are the highest-ranked Australian tennis players?

Who won the Australian Open last year? Women’s singles champion

​Aryna Sabalenka def. Elena Rybakina

Melbourne Park celebrated its newest singles champion in 2023 when Aryna Sabalenka took out the top prize.

The 25-year-old played a thrilling final against Elena Rybakina where she dropped the first set but powered back to win 4–6 6–3 6–4.

It was also Sabalenka’s maiden Grand Slam title and kickstarted a successful season that saw her temporarily earn the world No. 1 status. 


Getty Images

Sabalenka is among the favourites for the Australian Open title in 2024 as she aims to go back-to-back.

World No. 1 Iga Świątek — who have never won the event — will certainly be in contention, as well as reigning US Open champion Coco Gauff and last year’s finalist Rybakina. 

Who won the Australian Open last year? Men’s singles champion

Novak Djokovic def. Stefanos Tsitsipas

It was a familiar face who took out the men’s singles in 2023, with Novak Djokovic securing a record-breaking tenth Australian Open title.

The Serbian defeated Stefanos Tsitsipas in straight sets but was required to hold his nerve in two separate tiebreaks, winning 6–3 7–6 (7–4) 7–6 (7–5). 

Novak Djokovic Stefanos Tsitsipas Australian Open

Getty Images

“I would like to say one more time Novak brings the best out in me they’ve been working my whole life for,” Tsitsipas said post-match.

“He’s one of the greatest in our sport and I think — he’s the greatest that has ever held a tennis racquet for sure.”

MORE: Tsitsipas anoints Djokovic as best ever

Djokovic reached the final in a typically ruthless and efficient fashion.

He dropped just one set — to qualifier Enzo Couacaud in the second round — en route to the decider, brushing aside the likes of Andrey Rublev and hometown favourite Alex de Minaur.

If the 36-year-old can triumph again at Melbourne Park this year, he will move his Grand Slam trophy tally to a staggering 25. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *