The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023: Live updates, results, winners as Lionel Messi seeks to defend title in London


FIFA holds its annual awards ceremony to recognise the best players, coaches, fans and participants across the global football community on January 15, 2024.

Held in London, England, the ceremony for The Best FIFA Football Awards will see the top men’s and women’s players and coaches for the past season crowned at a star-studded event. Other prizes to be given out will include the coveted FIFA Puskas Award, which honours the best goal scored in the past year or so.

The Best Awards were started in 2016 as FIFA’s alternative to the Ballon d’Or, which split from its partnership with the football governing body around that time. While it lacks the prestige of France Football’s long-running prize, The Best is nonetheless a desirable trophy as it is a mark of recognition from a player or coach’s peers as well as fans and media from across the world.

Lionel Messi is the defending champion from the 2022 awards and he is among the final nominees for the men’s prize this year.

The Sporting News is following the ceremony live from London and will provide updates from the gala, as well as the final list of winners.

MORE: The results of the 2023 Ballon d’Or, in which Lionel Messi made history

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023: Live updates, result, winners

All times local (GMT)

5 p.m.: Need a quick reminder of what this is all about? Here’s one from FIFA itself.

4 p.m.: Lionel Messi is the holder and the winner of the most recent Ballon d’Or, but Erling Haaland is the favourite to win the men’s player prize tonight. You can see the full list of nominees for each prize further down this page.

3.30 p.m.: The ceremony is due to start in about four hours’ time, but the famous faces are already arriving in London. That includes tonight’s host, who knows this city rather well…

3 p.m.: Today is the day that The Best FIFA Football Awards are given out for 2023 (yes, we know it’s actually 2024. It’s how FIFA does these things).

Lionel Messi will hope to add the men’s player prize to his Ballon d’Or win, while Ballon d’Or Feminin holder Aitana Bonmati could make history if she can complete the double in the women’s category.

What time does The Best FIFA Football Awards 2024 start?

FIFA’s The Best Awards for the 2023 calendar year will take place on Monday, January 15, 2024 in London, with the ceremony beginning at 7:30 p.m. local time in England.

Here’s how that time translates across some of the major territories around the globe:

  Date Start time
USA/Canada Mon, Jan. 15 2:30 p.m. ET
USA/Canada Mon, Jan. 15 11:30 a.m. PT
UK Mon, Jan. 15 7:30 p.m. GMT
Australia Tue, Jan. 16 6:30 a.m. AEDT
India Tue, Jan. 16 1 a.m. IST

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2024 live stream, TV channel

  • Date: Monday, Jan. 15, 2024
  • Time: 7:30 p.m. local GMT (2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT)
  • TV Channel: None
  • Live Stream: FIFA+

The 2024 FIFA The Best Awards ceremony takes place in London on Monday, with the ceremony beginning at 7:30 p.m. local time in the UK.

The ceremony is streamed exclusively on FIFA’s free streaming service FIFA+, which is available online worldwide or on various smart devices in many global markets, including Samsung TV+, LG, and Roku.

MORE: Watch UEFA Champions League in the United States on Paramount+

FIFA The Best 2023 nominations

From an initial list of 12 players nominated, FIFA have cut that to three, with the same three players shortlisted in 2023 as in 2022.

Men’s Player

  • Lionel Messi (Inter Miami / Argentina)
  • Kylian Mbappe (PSG / France)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City / Norway)

Women’s Player

Spain star Aitana Bonmati won the 2023 Ballon d’Or Feminin and she is predicted to win the FIFA The Best ‘double’ ahead of La Roja teammate Jenni Hermoso.

  • Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona / Spain)
  • Jenni Hermoso (FC Pachuca / Spain)
  • Linda Caicedo (Real Madrid/Deportivo Cali / Colombia)

Men’s goalkeeper

Messi’s Argentina teammate Emiliano Martinez has not been nominated to defend his title from 2022 after not being included on the initial five players shortlist.

  • Yassine Bounou (Sevilla/Al Hilal / Morocco)
  • Thiabaut Courtois (Real Madrid / Belgium)
  • Ederson (Manchester City / Brazil)

Men’s Coach

Lionel Scaloni won the 2022 award, after leading Messi and Argentina to the 2022 World Cup title, but the 2023 shortlist is made up of club managers.

  • Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
  • Simone Inzaghi (Inter Milan)
  • Luciano Spalletti (Napoli/Italy)

Women’s Goalkeeper

England star Mary Earps could be set to retain her title in the 2023 awards but the Manchester United stopper faces two fresh challengers this time.

  • Mary Earps (Manchester United / England)
  • Cata Coll (Barcelona / Spain)
  • Mackenzie Arnold (West Ham United / Australia)

Women’s coach

The 2022 winner Sarina Wiegman is again on the 2023 shortlist and her competition comes from two club managers.

  • Sarina Wiegman (England)
  • Jonathan Giraldez (Barcelona)
  • Emma Hayes (Chelsea)

FIFA Puskas Award

The FIFA Puskas Award is always highly sought-after as it honours the best goal scored that year and three special strikes have made it onto the final list.

  • Julio Enciso (Brighton & Hove Albion )
  • Guilherme Madruga (Botafogo CF)
  • Nuno Santos (Sporting Lisbon)

FIFA Fan Award

The FIFA Fan Award acknowledges fan gestures and shows of support to their team with the list decided by FIFA experts.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *