When is The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023? Date, time, location, nominees as Messi faces Mbappe and Haaland

The annual Best FIFA Football Awards will have a familiar look with a revival of the top players and coaches fighting it out to win the governing body’s top individual trophies for 2023.

Lionel Messi will be the name to keep an eye out for once again, with the Argentina star hoping to defend his 2022 Best Men’s Player gong after scooping an eighth Ballon d’Or in 2023.

Messi continues to be a huge presence at award ceremonies, but his rivals are gaining ground on the Inter Miami superstar, and he faces a battle to remain on top in this particular race.

His former Barcelona boss Pep Guardiola is also hoping to win a prize, while Aitana Bonmati is favourite to claim the Best Women’s Player trophy at the start-studded event.

The Sporting News has the key information on the 2023 awards plus the final nominee shortlist across all categories.

MORE: Lionel Messi predicts Ballon d’Or winners: Inter Miami star names heirs to award

When is The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023?

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023 ceremony will take place on January 15, 2024 in London.

Former Best FIFA Football Awards hosts

With London selected as the 2023 award venue, it means the ceremony will return to the UK for the first time since 2018, as FIFA continues to rotate locations.

Year Location
2023 London, UK
2022 Paris, France
2021 Virtual ceremony due to Covid-19 pandemic
2020 Virtual ceremony due to Covid-19 pandemic
2019 Milan, Italy
2018 London, UK
2017 London, UK
2016 Zurich, Switzerland

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023 nominees, final shortlists

Best FIFA Men’s Player

Treble-winning striker Erling Haaland will contest the men’s prize with Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi, the stars of the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City / Norway)
  • Lionel Messi (Inter Miami / Argentina)
  • Kylian Mbappe (PSG / France)

Best FIFA Women’s Player

Spain star Aitana Bonmati won the 2023 Ballon d’Or Feminin and she is predicted to win the FIFA Best ‘double’ ahead of La Roja teammate Jenni Hermoso.

  • Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona / Spain)
  • Jenni Hermoso (FC Pachuca / Spain)
  • Linda Caicedo (Real Madrid/Deportivo Cali / Colombia)

Best FIFA Men’s goalkeeper

Messi’s Argentina teammate Emiliano Martinez missed out on a chance to defend his title from 2022 after not being included on the keeper shortlist.

  • Yassine Bounou (Sevilla/Al Hilal / Morocco)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid / Belgium)
  • Ederson (Manchester City / Brazil)

Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Lionel Scaloni won the 2022 award after leading Messi and Argentina to the 2022 World Cup title in Qatar, but the 2023 shortlist is made up of club managers.

  • Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
  • Simone Inzaghi (Inter Milan)
  • Luciano Spalletti (Napoli/Italy)

Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

England star Mary Earps could retain her title for 2023 but the Manchester United shot-stopper faces two fresh challengers.

  • Mary Earps (Manchester United / England)
  • Cata Coll (Barcelona / Spain)
  • Mackenzie Arnold (West Ham United / Australia)

Best FIFA Women’s coach

The 2022 winner Sarina Wiegman is on the 2023 shortlist and her competition comes from two club managers.

  • Sarina Wiegman (England)
  • Jonathan Giraldez (Barcelona)
  • Emma Hayes (Chelsea)

FIFA Puskas Award

The FIFA Puskas Award is always highly sought-after as it honours the best goal scored that year and three special strikes have made it onto the final list.

  • Julio Enciso (Brighton & Hove Albion)
  • Guilherme Madruga (Botafogo CF)
  • Nuno Santos (Sporting Lisbon)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *