Where to watch Syria vs Australia live stream, TV channel, lineups, prediction for Asian Cup match

Australia continue their AFC Asian Cup campaign with a Group B clash against Syria on January 18.

The Socceroos kicked off their tournament with a 2-0 win over India in Al Rayyan as Syria drew 0-0 with Uzbekistan.

Graham Arnold’s side are looking to build on their run to the 2022 FIFA World Cup Round of 16 and they remain amongst the favourites to win the Asian Cup title in Qatar.

The Sporting News looks at the key details ahead of this game, including how to watch it across the world, kickoff times and the latest lineup news.

What time does Syria vs Australia kick off?

This AFC Asian Cup clash takes place at the Jassim Bin Hamad Stadium in Al Rayyan, Qatar and kicks off on Thursday, January 18 at 2:30 p.m. local time.

Here’s how that time translates across some of the major territories:

  Date Kickoff time
USA Thu, Jan. 18 6:30 a.m. ET
Canada Thu, Jan. 18 6:30 a.m. ET
UK Thu, Jan. 18 11:30 a.m. GMT
Australia Thu, Jan. 18 10:30 p.m. AEDT
India Thu, Jan. 18 5:00 p.m. IST

Syria vs Australia live stream, TV channel

Here’s how to watch this AFC Asian Cup match across selected areas of the world’s major regions:

USA: This match will be available via Paramount+.

Australia: Paramount+ will provide streaming services for the tournament.

UK: AFC Asian Cup matches can be streamed live in the UK via TrillerTV.

India: Streaming service FanCode is the place to go for AFC Asian Cup matches.

MORE: Asian Cup 2023: Fixtures, results, schedule, bracket for Qatar 2024 AFC tournament

Syria vs Australia lineups, team news

Syria have not won an AFC Asian Cup match since 2011 and a tight draw against Uzbekistan is a relatively strong start for them.

Syria (4-4-2, right to left): Madania (GK) — Oues, Ousou, Krouma, Ajan — Al Aswad, Elias, Ham, Ramadan — Sabbag, Hesar.

Syria subs (9): TBC

With no updates on the injury front for Australia, Arnold could stick with an unchanged starting XI, with Mitchell Duke leading the attack.

Australia (4-2-3-1 right to left): Ryan (GK) — Jones, Souttar, Rowles, Behich — Baccus, Irvine — Boyle, Metcalfe, Goodwin — Duke.

Australia subs (9): TBC

Syria vs Australia prediction

Australia can seal their place in the knockout stages with a win in this game and Syria are unlikely to pose any major issues for Arnold’s team in Al Rayyan.

A place in the Round of 16 is a basic objective for Arnold and he will already be planning for how far Australia can progress in this tournament after losing out in the quarterfinals in 2019.

Prediction: Syria 0-2 Australia

Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *