Where to watch Iran vs Qatar live stream, TV channel, lineups, prediction for Asian Cup semifinal

Iran face off with hosts Qatar in the AFC Asian Cup semifinals on February 7.

Qatar are aiming to become the first side to defend their title in this competition since Japan’s double triumph in 2000 and 2004 with Iran not reaching the final since winning the trophy in 1976.

Despite being knocked out at the group stages as hosts of the 2022 FIFA World Cup, Qatar have bounced back in this competition, but they face a real test against Iran.

The Sporting News looks at the key details ahead of this game, including how to watch it across the world, kickoff times and the latest lineup news.

What time does Iran vs. Qatar kick off?

This AFC Asian Cup clash takes place at the Al Thumama Stadium in Al Thumama, Qatar and kicks off on Wednesday, February 7 at 6:00 p.m. local time.

Here’s how that time translates across some of the major territories:

  Date Kickoff time
USA Wed, Feb. 7 10:00 a.m. ET
Canada Wed, Feb. 7 10:00 a.m. ET
UK Wed, Feb. 7 3:00 p.m. GMT
Australia Thu, Feb. 8 2:00 a.m. AEDT
India Wed, Feb. 7 8:30 p.m. IST

Iran vs. Qatar live stream, TV channel

Here’s how to watch this AFC Asian Cup match across selected areas of the world’s major regions:

USA: This match will be available via Paramount+.

UK: Asian Cup matches will be shown on subscription streaming service TrillerTV.

Australia: Paramount+ will provide streaming services for the tournament.

India: Streaming service FanCode is the place to go for AFC Asian Cup matches.

Iran vs. Qatar lineups, team news

Iran clinched their spot in the semifinals with a late 2-1 win over pre-tournament favourites Japan as Feyenoord winger Alireza Jahanbakhsh netted an added time penalty.

Star striker Mehdi Taremi is back in the squad after serving a one-game ban against Japan.

Iran (4-2-3-1, right to left):  Beiranvand (GK) — Rezaeian, Kanaanizadegan, Khalilzadeh, Mohammadi — Ebrahimi, Ezatolahi — Jahanbakhsh, Taremi, Ghoddos — Azmoun.

Iran subs (9): TBC

Qatar needed a penalty shootout to get past Uzbekistan in the previous round and Sultan Al-Brake could come in to start for the hosts.

Qatar (3-5-2 right to left): Barsham (GK) — Salman, Mukhtar, Mendes — Miguel, Al-Brake, Fatehi, Al-Haydos, Waad —  Afif, Ali.

Qatar subs (9): TBC

Iran vs. Qatar prediction

Iran are strongly fancied to storm on to the final despite Qatar riding a wave of home advantage ahead of this game. Both sides won all three games in the group stages but Iran’s key stars in attack will be vital with Jahanbakhsh and Taremi amongst the biggest stars at the tournament.

Prediction: Iran 2-0 Qatar

Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *