History of NBA Slam Dunk Contest winners: Who has the most wins in All-Star event?

Few All-Star events in any sport thrill as much as the Slam Dunk Contest.

The event features feats of athleticism, acrobatic moves, guest participants and often a variety of props. It’s arguably the most outlandish of any All-Star event. And that’s what has made it such a staple of All-Star Weekend.

Since 1984, there has been a Dunk Contest in all but two years, one of which was replaced by the WNBA-NBA 2Ball contest and the other where a lockout kept out the All-Star Game altogether. Several of the game’s all-time greats from Michael Jordan to Vince Carter to Kobe Bryant have participated in and won the event.

But who has won it the most? Here’s a history of the event by year, including which players have the most titles to their names.

MORE: Everything you need to know about NBA All-Star weekend

History of NBA Slam Dunk Contest

There have been 38 Dunk Contests in the NBA’s history, dating back to the first competition, which was won by Suns forward Larry Nance in the Denver edition of the All-Star break.

Last year, 76ers guard Mac McClung, who had played in all of two NBA games, stunned the world by putting on a show and winning the 2023 edition in Utah.

Year Winner Team Location
1984 Larry Nance Suns Denver
1985 Dominique Wilkins Hawks Indianapolis
1986 Spud Webb Hawks Dallas
1987 Michael Jordan Bulls Seattle
1988 Michael Jordan Bulls Chicago
1989 Kenny Walker Knicks Houston
1990 Dominique Wilkins Hawks Miami
1991 Dee Brown Celtics Charlotte
1992 Cedric Ceballos Suns Orlando
1993 Harold Miner Heat Salt Lake City
1994 Isiah Rider Timberwolves Minnesota
1995 Harold Miner Heat Phoenix
1996 Brent Barry Clippers San Antonio
1997 Kobe Bryant Lakers Cleveland
2000 Vince Carter Raptors Oakland
2001 Desmond Mason Sonics Washington, D.C.
2002 Jason Richardson Warriors Philadelphia
2003 Jason Richardson Warriors Atlanta
2004 Fred Jones Pacers Los Angeles
2005 Josh Smith Hawks Denver
2006 Nate Robinson Knicks Houston
2007 Gerald Green Celtics Las Vegas
2008 Dwight Howard Magic New Orleans
2009 Nate Robinson Knicks Phoenix
2010 Nate Robinson Knicks Dallas
2011 Blake Griffin Clippers Los Angeles
2012 Jeremy Evans Jazz Orlando
2013 Terrence Ross Raptors Houston
2014 John Wall Wizards New Orleans
2015 Zach LaVine Timberwolves New York City
2016 Zach LaVine Timberwolves Toronto
2017 Glenn Robinson III Pacers New Orleans
2018 Donovan Mitchell Jazz Los Angeles
2019 Hamidou Diallo Thunder Charlotte
2020 Derrick Jones Jr. Heat Chicago
2021 Anfernee Simons Trail Blazers Atlanta
2022 Obi Toppin Knicks Cleveland
2023 Mac McClung 76ers Utah

Who has the most Slam Dunk Contest wins?

The Dunk Contest has often been dominated by forwards who don’t have as far to go to reach the rim. That’s why it’s perhaps surprising that the player with the most Dunk Contest wins stands only 5-9.

Knicks guard Nate Robinson, who is listed by the NBA as standing 5-9 and 180 pounds, won the Slam Dunk Contest as a rookie in 2006, then did it in back-to-back years in 2009 and 2010. No other player has as many as his three titles. Robinson also finished as the runner-up in 2007, losing to Gerald Green.

In addition to his record-setting three titles, Robinson is also one of only four players to win the event in back-to-back years. Jordan was the first to do so in 1987 and 1988. Warriors guard/forward Jason Richardson won the event in 2002 and 2003.

With victories in 2015 and 2016, Zach LaVine became the latest back-to-back winner when he took home the hardware in both seasons.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *