Who is in the NBA 3-Point Contest? Full lineup and participants for 2024 All-Star Weekend

This year’s 3-Point Contest should be a good one.

It doesn’t feature Stephen Curry, who is widely considered to be the greatest shooter of all time, because he’ll be too busy competing in a different 3-point competition. Still, some of the best shooters in the league will go head-to-head Saturday night, including first-time All-Star Jalen Brunson and Indiana’s Tyrese Haliburton.

Will there be a repeat winner or will someone new be crowned the 3-point champion?

Here’s everything you need to know about this year’s 3-Point Contest.

Who is in the NBA 3-Point Contest?

The 2024 3-Point Contest features Malik Beasley, Jalen Brunson, Tyrese Haliburton, Damian Lillard, Lauri Markkanen, Donovan Mitchell, Karl-Anthony Towns and Trae Young.

It’ll mark a return to the event for Haliburton, Lillard, Markkanen, Mitchell, Towns and Young. It also features the last two winners of the competition. Lillard won the 3-Point Contest in 2023 after Towns made history in 2022 by becoming the first center to win the event.

Only seven players have won the 3-Point Contest multiple times, a list that includes Larry Bird and Stephen Curry. Lillard and Towns will be looking to join that exclusive club.

Here is the full list of this year’s 3-Point Contest participants:

Player Team
Malik Beasley Milwaukee Bucks
Jalen Brunson New York Knicks
Tyrese Haliburton Indiana Pacers
Damian Lillard Milwaukee Bucks
Lauri Markkanen Utah Jazz
Donovan Mitchell Cleveland Cavaliers
Karl-Anthony Towns Minnesota Timberwolves
Trae Young Atlanta Hawks

NBA 3-Point Contest rules, scoring, format

The 3-Point Contest is split into two rounds.

Eight shooters participate in the first round. They each get 70 seconds to shoot as many of the 27 balls as they can. The three players with the highest scores in the first round advance to the final round.

The three players that advance shoot again in the final round. The one with the highest score in the final round is crowned the champion.

The ball racks for the 3-Point Contest are positioned at five shooting locations around the 3-point line. Four of the racks contain four normal basketballs, which are worth one point each, and one multi-colored “money ball,” which is worth two points each.

One rack features only money balls. The shooter can pick which rack they want to be their money ball rack.

Additionally, there are two deep shot locations from “STARRY Range,” which are worth three points each.

The highest possible score a player can get in a round is 40.

All-Star Saturday Night schedule

  • Date: Saturday, Feb. 17
  • Time: 8 p.m. ET | 5 p.m. PT
  • Location: Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, Indiana

All-Star Saturday Night tips off at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday, Feb. 17 from Lucas Oil Stadium.

The night will begin with the Skills Challenge, followed by the 3-Point Contest. There will then be a 3-Point Challenge between NBA star Stephen Curry and WNBA star Sabrina Ionescu before the Dunk Contest, the final event of the night.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *