Anthony Joshua vs Francis Ngannou live fight updates, results, highlights from 2024 heavyweight boxing showdown

Heavyweight boxing’s Saudi Arabia era takes in another blockbuster encounter when Anthony Joshua faces Francis Ngannou in a bout dubbed “Knockout Chaos” on Friday.

Former two-time unified world champion Joshua is on a three-fight winning streak following his back-to-back losses to Oleksandr Usyk and gunning for a shot at undisputed glory.

Last time out, the 34-year-old demolished Otto Wallin over five rounds on the same December 2023 Riyadh card where Deontay Wilder faced Joseph Parker. The plan was for Joshua to face long-time Wilder rival on this March 8 date before Parker ripped up the script by claiming a wide points decision.

Step forward Ngannou, who shocked the sporting world by flooring undefeated WBC heavyweight champion Tyson Fury on his boxing debut last October before losing a disputed split decision. The former MMA heavyweight king now has designs on toppling one of the other giants among boxing’s big men in this era.

WATCH: Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou, exclusively live on DAZN

On the undercard, Parker rides again against the concussive southpaw threat of Zhilei Zhang, while there is world title action at featherweight, as Rey Vargas puts his WBC title on the line against Nick Ball, and super welterweight, where Israil Madrimov and Magomed Kurbanov contest the vacant WBA strap.

The Sporting News is following the Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou “Knockout Chaos” fight card live, providing updates, commentary and highlights as they happen.

Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou live updates, highlights, and commentary

11:15 p.m. AST/ 3:15 p.m. ET: It looked like we were in store for another upset on the undercard as Kevin Lerena laid it on thick during the closing stages against Justis Huni. There’s plenty to work on for the former amateur standout after he was in trouble early and late. He banked enough rounds in between to earn the not by margins of 96-94 and 98-92 (twice).

10:30 p.m. AST/ 2:30 p.m. ET: We’re underway with the main card action, with Australian heavyweight prospect Justis Huni facing South Africa’s Kevin Lerena. It’s been a fast start from Lerena, the more experienced fighter but the underdog going in. He’s jabbing well to the body and appears to have hurt Huni in the second round! Lerena slinging in hooks from both wings and Huni must respond. He does so with a solid uppercut.

10:00 p.m. AST/ 2:00 p.m. ET: There’s been a lot of talk about Joshua’s switch to train with Ben Davison. The fight against Otto Wallin was the first of their partnership and AJ produced his most emphatic display in years. He is far from the only fight to appear revitalised after decamping to the Ben Davison Performance Centre, so what’s the secret. British super featherweight Jordan Gill, who is also coming off a career-best win over Michael Conlan, gave The Sporting News some behind the scenes insight from the hottest gym in the UK.

Ben Davison, Anthony Joshua, Jordan Gill and Leigh Wood

Mark Robinson/Matchroom Boxing

MORE: Anthony Joshua fight camp for Francis Ngannou, behind the scenes: Study, inspiration and punching harder

9:30 p.m. AST/ 1:30 p.m. ET: A sensational on the undercard as Louis Greene demolishes Jack McGann inside a round!  A good omen for power-punching knockout victories against the odds; a bad omen for MMA fighters crossing over to boxing. McGann’s transition from mixed martial arts has been an impressive one and he defeated Alcibiade Duran, the son of boxing legend Roberto, on the Fury vs. Ngannou undercard. But he never looked comfortable against former Commonwealth super welterweight champion Greene, who took his measure before detonating an explosive right hand to the jaw. McGann gamely got to his feet but the referee wisely concluded that, to all intents and purposes, he was no longer in the room.

9:00 p.m. AST/ 1:00 p.m. ET: Roman Fury moves to 4-0 as a pro with a routine four-round points win over Martin Svarc. Roman has dad John Fury in his corner and unmistakably has the family style in terms of languid moves and quicksilver footwork. He could perhaps do a little more to quicken the pulse and the action got a little scrappy during the second half, perhaps on account of this only being Svarc’s third bout. It was a good advert for journeymen enhancing the schooling of young prospects. Tyson Fury walked his brother into the ring and is beaming with pride at ringside.

8:30 p.m. AST/ 12:30 p.m. ET: Tyson Fury in the house bright and early. His brother Roman is up next on the undercard in his fourth professional fight. Tommy Fury is also at the Kingdom Arena and has called out Conor McGregor to continue an absolutely normal week of matchmaking. I understand there are also people in attendance who aren’t members of the Fury family. More as we get it.

8:00 p.m. AST/ 12:00 p.m. ET: Joshua was the master of all he surveyed in the heavyweight division before Andy Ruiz Jr. stunningly stopped him at Madison Square Garden in June 2019. He two defeats since have come against the often unfathomable skills of Oleksandr Usyk. AJ avenged the Ruiz reverse and it remains his only stoppage loss. Yet questions over the durability of his chin and his reaction under fire remain. Ngannou sound to prick at those when he spoke to The Sporting News this week.

MORE: AJ’s punch resistance questioned by Ngannou

7:30 p.m. AST/ 11:30 a.m. ET: So, today is the day. Will Anthony Joshua get the win he needs for a shot at the undisputed heavyweight title (pending rematch clauses, mandatories and all of that good stuff) or will Francis Ngannou go one better than he did in October against Tyson Fury and cement himself as the arch disruptor of this unprecedented period in heavyweight boxing? Our man Tom Gray is on the ground in Riyadh and has spent time with both fighters taking part in the main event. Irrespective of the unusual nature of tonight’s clash against a novice boxer whose records reads 0-1, two-time unified heavyweight champion Joshua has pledged to be “relentless” tonight.

Anthony Joshua

(Mark Robinson/Matchroom Boxing)

MORE: Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou: AJ dismisses boxing against MMA narrative, vows to be relentless

7:00 p.m. AST/ 11:00 a.m. ET: Hello and welcome to The Sporting News’ live coverage of Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou. The two knockout artists top a stacked card in Riyadh Saudi Arabia.

Anthony Joshua and Francis Ngannou staredown

Queensberry

What time is Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou today? 

  • Event start time: 10 a.m. ET | 9 a.m. CT | 7 a.m. PT
  • Main event start time: approx. 6 p.m. ET | 5 p.m. CT | 3 p.m. PT 

The card starts at 6 p.m. local time (10 a.m. ET). Joshua and Ngannou should make their way to the ring around 2 a.m. local time (6 p.m. ET), depending on how long the undercard fights last.

Here’s a breakdown of Joshua vs. Ngannou start times worldwide:

Region Date Start Time Main Event Ring Walks (approx.)
Saudi Arabia (local) Friday, March 8 6 p.m. AST 2 a.m. AST
USA and Canada (ET) Friday, March 8 10 a.m. ET 6 p.m. ET
USA and Canada (CT) Friday, March 8 9 a.m. CT 5 p.m. CT
USA and Canada (PT) Friday, March 8 7 a.m. PT 3 p.m. PT
Puerto Rico Friday, March 8 11 a.m. EDT 7 p.m. EDT
UK and Ireland Friday, March 8 3 p.m. GMT 11 p.m. GMT
South Africa Friday, March 8 5 p.m. SAST 1 a.m. SAST
India Friday, March 8 8:30 p.m. IST 4:30 a.m. IST
Philippines Friday, March 8 11 p.m. PST 7 a.m. PST
Australia Saturday, March 9 2 a.m. AEDT 10 a.m. AEDT
New Zealand Saturday, March 9 3 a.m. NZST 11 a.m. NZST

How to watch Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou: TV channel, live stream

Region TV channel Live streaming 
USA DAZN 
Canada DAZN
UK and Ireland DAZNSky Sports PPV
Australia DAZN

The heavyweight fight will be on DAZN, with the streaming giant and Sky Sports PPV set to share the broadcast in the U.K.

Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou PPV price

  • U.S. PPV Price: $69.99
  • U.K. PPV Price:  £19.99
    • For existing DAZN subscribers, the U.K. PPV price will be £18.99.
  • DAZN monthly subscription: $19.99 on a 12-month contract or $24.99 month-to-month in U.S. / $24.99 per month in Canada / £9.99 in the U.K. on a 12-month contract or £19.99 month-to-month / 13.99 AUD
  • DAZN annual subscription: $224.99 in U.S., $199.99 in Canada, £99.99 in the UK.

Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou fight card

  • Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou; heavyweights
  • Zhilei Zhang (ic) vs. Joseph Parker for the interim WBO heavyweight title
  • Rey Vargas (c) vs. Nick Ball for the WBC featherweight title 
  • Israil Madrimov vs. Magomed Kurbanov for the WBA super welterweight title 
  • Mark Chamberlain vs. Gavin Gwynne; lightweights
  • Justis Huni va. Kevin Lerena; heavyweights
  • Louis Greene def. Jack McGann (TKO 1/10); super welterweights
  • Roman Fury def. Martin Svarc (PTS 6); cruiserweights
  • Ziyad Almaayouf def. Christian Lopez Flores (PTS 6); super lightweights
  • Andrii Novytskyi def. Juan Torres (KO 3/8); heavyweights

Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *