When does Euro 2024 start? Date, time of first game at UEFA finals in Germany

The 2024 European Championship is rapidly approaching and, with that, the excitement continues to build.

England are the favourites, despite never winning the tournament, with France second favourites.

Perhaps Les Bleus should be placed above England given that they knocked out the Three Lions in the quarterfinals at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. 

Germany are the hosts of the tournament and have therefore been drawn into Group A. Joining them in that group are Switzerland, Scotland and Hungary. 

The Sporting News takes a look at the tournament’s schedule along with its format and opening game.

MORE: England predicted EURO 2024 squad

When does EURO 2024 start? Schedule and format of tournament

The UEFA European Championship takes place this summer, with the group stage to begin June 142024.

The opening game of the tournament will see hosts Germany face Scotland in Munich at the Allianz Arena. Kick-off is scheduled to take place at 9:00 p.m. local time (8pm UK and 3pm ET).

The tournament will then continue for the rest of the month, with the knockout stage beginning June 30, 2024, with the Round of 16.

The final will take place in Berlin on July 142024, to crown the winner and close the competition.

Round Dates
Group Stage June 14-26, 2024
Round of 16 June 30-July 1, 2024
Quarterfinals July 5-6, 2024
Semifinals July 9-10, 2024
Final July 14, 2024

What time do Euro 2024 games kick off?

Matches at Euro 2024 will kick off in one of three time slots (in local CET time): 3 p.m., 6 p.m., or 9 p.m.

See also  Where to watch Newcastle vs Man United live stream, TV channel, lineups, odds for Premier League match

Here is how those times translate to some of the major territories:

Time Zone 3 p.m. CET 6 p.m. CET 9 p.m.CET
USA/Canada (ET) 9 a.m. 12 p.m. 3 p.m.
USA/Canada (PT) 6 a.m. 9 a.m. 12 p.m.
UK (BST) 2 p.m. 5 p.m. 8 p.m.
India (IST) 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. 12:30 a.m.*
Australia (AEST) 11 p.m. 2 a.m.* 5 a.m.*

*Following day

Full list of teams at Euro 2024

As tournament hosts, Germany were the only team to have qualified for Euro 2024 before the October qualifying matches.

Here are the teams who joined them over the course of the closing fixtures.

Team Qualification method
Germany Hosts
Belgium Group F — 1st place
France Group B — 1st place
Portugal Group J — 1st place
Scotland Group A — 2nd place
Spain Group A — 1st place
Turkiye Group D – 1st place
Austria Group F — 2nd place
England Group C — 1st place
Hungary Group G — 1st place
Slovakia Group J — 2nd place
Albania Group E – 1st place
Czechia Group E – 2nd place
Denmark Group H — 1st place
Netherlands Group B — 2nd place
Romania Group I – 1st place
Switzerland Group I – 2nd place
Slovenia Group J — 2nd place
Serbia Group G — 2nd place
Croatia Group D – 2nd place
Italy Group C — 2nd place

Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *