NBA award finalists 2024: Full list of candidates for MVP, Defensive Player of the Year and more

The 2023-24 regular season is in the past, meaning fans are one step closer to learning who will win end-of-season awards.

On Sunday, the NBA revealed the finalists for the six performance awards: Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, Most Improved Player and Clutch Player of the Year. The league also revealed the finalists for Coach of the Year.

The finalists were announced on TNT shortly after 6:30 p.m. ET.

As in years past, award winners were voted on by a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters. This year, however, new rules regarding player availability impacted the award eligibility for several stars.

Here are the finalists for this year’s end-of-season awards.

MORE: NBA Playoffs schedule 2024: Dates, times, TV channels for every game

Most Valuable Player


  • Luka Doncic, Dallas Mavericks
  • Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Oklahoma State Thunder
  • Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets 

Previous winners

Season Winner
2022-23 Joel Embiid, 76ers
2021-22 Nikola Jokic, Nuggets
2020-21 Nikola Jokic, Nuggets
2019-20 Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bucks
2018-19 Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bucks
2017-18 James Harden, Rockets
2016-17 Russell Westbrook, Thunder
2015-16 Stephen Curry, Warriors
2014-15 Stephen Curry, Warriors
2013-14 Kevin Durant, Thunder

Rookie of the Year

  • Chet Holmgren, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Brandon Miller, Charlotte Hornets
  • Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs

Previous winners

Season Winner
2022-23 Paolo Banchero, Magic
2021-22 Scottie Barnes, Raptors
2020-21 LaMelo Ball, Hornets
2019-20 Ja Morant, Grizzlies
2018-19 Luka Doncic, Mavericks
2017-18 Ben Simmons, 76ers
2016-17 Malcolm Brogdon, Bucks
2015-16 Karl-Anthony Towns, Timberwolves
2014-15 Andrew Wiggins, Timberwolves
2013-14 Michael Carter-Williams, 76ers 
See also  Patrick Mahomes snowballs: Chiefs QB forced to dodge debris from Buffalo crowd after beating Josh Allen, Bills

Defensive Player of the Year


  • Bam Adebayo, Miami Heat
  • Rudy Gobert, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs

Previous winners

Season Winner
2022-23 Jaren Jackson Jr., Grizzlies
2021-22 Marcus Smart, Celtics
2020-21 Rudy Gobert, Jazz
2019-20 Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bucks
2018-19 Rudy Gobert, Jazz
2017-18 Rudy Gobert, Jazz
2016-17 Draymond Green, Warriors
2015-16 Kawhi Leonard, Spurs
2014-15 Kawhi Leonard, Spurs
2013-14 Joakim Noah, Bulls

Sixth Man of the Year


  • Malik Monk, Sacramento Kings
  • Bobby Portis, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Naz Reid, Minnesota Timberwolves

Previous winners

Season Winner
2022-23 Malcolm Brogdon, Celtics
2021-22 Tyler Herro, Heat
2020-21 Jordan Clarkson, Jazz
2019-20 Montrezl Harrell, Clippers
2018-19 Lou Williams, Clippers
2017-18 Lou Williams, Clippers
2016-17 Eric Gordon, Clippers
2015-16 Jamal Crawford, Clippers
2014-15 Lou Williams, Raptors
2013-14 Jamal Crawford, Clippers

Most Improved Player


  • Tyrese Maxey, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Alperen Sengun, Houston Rockets
  • Coby White, Chicago Bulls

Previous winners

Season Winner
2022-23 Lauri Markkanen, Jazz
2021-22 Ja Morant, Grizzlies
2020-21 Julius Randle, Knicks
2019-20 Brandon Ingram, Pelicans
2018-19 Pascal Siakam, Raptors
2017-18 Victor Oladipo, Pacers
2016-17 Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bucks
2015-16 CJ McCollum, Trail Blazers
2014-15 Jimmy Butler, Bulls
2013-14 Goran Dragic, Suns

Clutch Player of the Year


  • Steph Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • DeMar DeRozen, Chicago Bulls
  • Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Oklahoma State Thunder

Previous winners

The Clutch Player of the Year trophy was introduced during the 2022-23 NBA season.

Season Winner
2022-23 De’Aaron Fox, Kings

Coach of the Year


  • Mark Daigneault, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Chris Finch, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Jamahl Mosley, Orlando Magic

Previous winners

Season Winner
2022-23 Mike Brown, Kings
2021-22 Monty Williams, Suns
2020-21 Tom Thibodeau, Knicks
2019-20 Nick Nurse, Raptors
2018-19 Mike Budenholzer, Bucks
2017-18 Dwane Casey, Raptors
2016-17 Mike D’Antoni, Rockets
2015-16 Steve Kerr, Warriors
2014-15 Mike Budenholzer, Hawks
2013-14 Gregg Popovich, Spurs
See also  Shohei Ohtani’s Free Agency Drove The Ball Writers Batty


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *