NBA awards 2024: Complete list of winners for MVP, Most Improved, Sixth Man, Rookie of the Year and more

While the 2024 NBA Playoffs are in full swing, the league is preparing to honor regular-season standouts with end-of-season performance awards.

Award-winners from the 2023-24 regular season will be announced during TNT’s postseason coverage, with the “Inside the NBA” crew of Ernie Johnson, Charles Barkley, Shaquille O’Neal and Kenny Smith announcing the winners.

This year, the Most Improved Player will be announced first, followed by Sixth Man of the Year, Clutch Player of the Year and Coach of the Year award winners. The final three award winners that will be honored are the league’s Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player.

Award winners were voted on by a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters. This year, however, new rules regarding player availability impacted the award eligibility for several stars.

Who won this year’s end-of-season honors? Below, find a running list of each award winner as they are revealed.

MORE: When the NBA plans to announce end-of-season award winners

2023-24 NBA awards

(Winners will be denoted in bold.)

Most Valuable Player


  • Luka Doncic, Dallas Mavericks
  • Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets 

This year’s MVP finalists represent the future of the NBA. The group is headlined by a pair of 25-year-olds in Doncic and Gilgeous-Alexander in addition to a 29-year-old two-time MVP in Jokic.

It is unclear when the NBA will announce this year’s MVP.

Rookie of the Year


  • Chet Holmgren, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Brandon Miller, Charlotte Hornets
  • Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs
See also  Nikola Jokic buzzer beater: Nuggets star ‘knew’ game-winning 3 from near half court would bank in

Wembanyama and Miller, the top two picks in the 2023 NBA Draft, are joined by Holmgren, the No. 2 overall pick in the 2022 NBA Draft.

The NBA has not shared when it will announce the Rookie of the Year.

MORE: Why Victor Wembanyama can be this generation’s Wilt Chamberlain

Defensive Player of the Year


  • Bam Adebayo, Miami Heat
  • Rudy Gobert, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs

Gobert, a three-time Defensive Player of the Year, looks to tie an NBA record with a fourth award. Joining Gobert as finalists are Adebayo and Wembanyama.

The NBA has not shared when it will announce the Defensive Player of the Year.

MORE: Steph Noh’s expert All-Defensive Team picks

Sixth Man of the Year


  • Malik Monk, Sacramento Kings
  • Bobby Portis, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Naz Reid, Minnesota Timberwolves

Fittingly, the Sixth Man of the Year finalists are each fan favorites in their respective home markets.

The 2024 Sixth Man of the Year will be announced on Wednesday, April 24.

Most Improved Player


  • Tyrese Maxey, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Alperen Sengun, Houston Rockets
  • Coby White, Chicago Bulls

Maxey won the Most Improved Player award, beating out finalists Alperen Sengun and Coby White, the NBA announced on April 23. The final voting had Maxey beating out White by just 14 points.

The 76ers fourth-year guard made his first All-Star appearance and averaged 25.9 points and 6.2 assists per game this season. He’s just the second 76ers player to win the award after Dana Barros won in 1995.

See also  Kim Mulkey press conference: LSU coach rips Los Angeles Times over ‘villains’ article

Maxey took on a leadership role when Joel Embiid suffered an injury that sidelined him for a majority of the regular season. He helped the 76ers earn the No. 7 seed in the Eastern Conference.

Clutch Player of the Year


  • Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • DeMar DeRozan, Chicago Bulls
  • Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Oklahoma City Thunder

The second-ever Clutch Player of the Year features three of the NBA’s most fearsome clutch performers.

The 2024 Clutch Player of the Year will be announced on Thursday, April 25.

MORE: Shai Gilgeous-Alexander and the Thunder are proof that age is just a number

Coach of the Year


  • Mark Daigneault, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Chris Finch, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Jamahl Mosley, Orlando Magic

The Thunder, Timberwolves and Magic all exceeded expectations in 2023-24 thanks largely to the coaching jobs from Daigneault, Finch and Mosley.

The 2024 Coach of the Year will be announced on Sunday, April 28.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *