NHL awards 2024: List of finalists for the Hart, Norris, Vezina, Calder & more

The focus in the NHL may be on the Stanley Cup, but for a number of individuals, there is other hardware that can potentially be collected. 

The NHL award season is just around the corner, as the league is getting set to name the winners of its major award winners. Starting this week, the NHL will begin to announce the finalists for these honors, which includes the Hart Trophy, Vezina Trophy, Jack Adams Award, Norris Trophy and others. 

The winners of the awards will be revealed at some point after the conclusion of the 2024 NHL Stanley Cup playoffs. 


Here is a look at the finalists for all of the major awards.

2024 NHL Award finalists

Vezina Trophy


  • Sergei Bobrovsky, G, Florida Panthers
  • Thatcher Demko, G, Vancouver Canucks
  • Connor Hellebuyck, G, Winnipeg Jets

The finalists for the Vezina Trophy were announced Monday, April 29. The award goes to the league’s best goaltender of the season. 

The Bruins’ Linus Ullmark took home the honor last year, the first Vezina in his career. 

Calder Memorial Trophy


  • Connor Bedard, F, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Brock Faber, D, Minnesota Wild
  • Luke Hughes, D, New Jersey Devils

The finalists for the Calder Trophy were announced on Tuesday, April 30. The award goes to the league’s best rookie of the season.

Kraken center Matty Beniers won the Calder in 2023.

James Norris Memorial Trophy


  • Quinn Hughes, D, Vancouver Canucks
  • Roman Josi, D, Nashville Predators
  • Cale Makar, D, Colorado Avalanche

The finalists for the Norris Trophy were announced on Wednesday, May 1. The award goes to the league’s best defenseman of the season.

See also  Red Sox get 2B back for middle game vs. Rays

Last year, Erik Karlsson, then with the Sharks, won the honor for the third time in his career. 

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy


The finalists for the Bill Masterton Trophy are scheduled to be announced on Thursday, May 2. The award honors the player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Penguins defenseman Kris Letang won the award in 2023.

Jack Adams Award


The finalists for the Jack Adams Award are set to be announced on Friday, May 3. The award goes to the head coach who has “contributed the most to his team’s success.”

Bruins coach Jim Montgomery took home the award in 2023. 

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy


The finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy are going to be announced on Saturday, May 4. This award goes to the “player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

Kings forward Anze Kopitar won the award in 2023, the second honor in his career. 

Frank J. Selke Trophy


The finalists for the Selke Trophy are scheduled to be announced on Sunday, May 5. The award is given to the “forward who demonstrates the most skill in the defensive component of the game.”

Bruins retired center Patrice Bergeron won the Selke in 2023, marking the sixth in his career. He broke Bob Gainey’s record for the most Selkes in 2022 when he earned his fifth. 

Ted Lindsay Award


The finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award are set to be announced on Wednesday, May 8. The award, named after Hall of Famer Ted Lindsay (formerly the Lester B. Pearson Award), is given annually to the NHL’s most outstanding player as voted on by his peers.

See also  Phoenix Open tee times, TV channel, live stream & more to watch Rounds 1-4 of PGA Tour event

Oilers superstar Connor McDavid earned the Ted Lindsay Award in 2023, winning the award for the fourth time in his career. 

Hart Memorial Trophy


The finalists for the Hart Trophy are set to be announced on Tuesday, May 7. The award goes to the player deemed “most valuable” to his team.

Last year, McDavid earned his third Hart Trophy in his career. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *