Red Sox get rookie OF back in the starting lineup for series opener vs. Rays

The Boston Red Sox just took their series against the Washington Nationals on Sunday, and they’re already back in action on Monday with a four-game series against the Tampa Bay Rays starting at Fenway Park.

Boston will send Kutter Crawford to the mound while Tampa Bay will counter with Zach Eflin.

Here’s what Alex Cora’s lineup will look like on Monday:

  1. Jarren Duran LF
  2. Wilyer Abreu RF
  3. Connor Wong C
  4. Rafael Devers 3B
  5. Tyler O’Neill DH
  6. Dominic Smith 1B
  7. Vaughn Grissom 2B
  8. Romy Gonzalez SS
  9. Ceddanne Rafaela

Crawford has been great for the Red Sox so far this season, posting a 1.75 ERA (fifth in the majors) and a 1.08 WHIP in his eight starts. Six Rays have hits against him in his career – Randy Arozarena (1-for-7), Yandy Diaz (1-for-9 with an RBI and two walks), Josh Lowe (1-for-11 with an RBI), Harold Ramirez (1-for-7 with an RBI), Amed Rosario (3-for-8) and Jose Siri (1-for-2).

Tampa Bay has gotten solid production from Eflin this season, as he’s recorded a 3.75 ERA and a 1.13 WHIP in his eight starts for the club. Six Red Sox have hits off of him in his career – Abreu (1-for-4), Devers (5-for-11 with two home runs and three RBIs), O’Neill (1-for-4 with a walk), Rafaela (2-for-3) and Smith (7-for-19 with two RBIs).


See also  Anthony Joshua vs. Francis Ngannou: AJ dismisses boxing against MMA narrative, vows to be relentless

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *