When is the last time Mavericks went to NBA Finals? History of Dallas’ championship appearances

The Mavericks are back in the Western Conference Finals for the second time in three seasons.

Behind star guards Luka Doncic and Kyrie Irving, Dallas pulled off upsets in the first two rounds to reach this stage.

It defeated the No. 4 seed Clippers, who were without star forward Kawhi Leonard for four of the six games, in the first round. The Mavericks then took down MVP finalist Shai Gilgeous-Alexander and the No. 1 seed Thunder in six games in the West Semifinals to get one step closer to returning to the NBA Finals.

Dallas doesn’t have an extensive history of reaching the championship round, but it’s been twice in the last 20 years.

The Sporting News breaks down the Mavericks history of NBA Finals appearances below.

MORE: How All-NBA voting changes salaries for Luka Doncic, SGA and more

History of Mavericks NBA Finals appearances

When was the last time the Mavericks made the NBA Finals?

2011 was the last time the Mavericks reached the NBA Finals, winning their first championship in franchise history.

Powered by Finals MVP Dirk Nowitzki, current head coach Jason Kidd and Defensive Player of the Year candidate Tyson Chandler, Dallas pulled off a major upset to hoist the Larry O’Brien trophy.

The Mavs took down Brandon Roy, LaMarcus Aldridge and the Trail Blazers in six games in the first round before sweeping Kobe Bryant and the Lakers in the second round. In the Western Conference Finals, experience prevailed as Nowitzki and Kidd led the Mavericks past a young Thunder squad of Kevin Durant, Russell Westbrook and James Harden in five games.

See also  NBA player explains why Iowa’s Caitlin Clark reminds him of Mavericks star Luka Doncic

In the Finals, the Mavericks were tasked with defeating the Heat’s “Big 3” of LeBron James, Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh in their first season as a super team.

It was a legacy-solidifying series for Nowitzki, who averaged 26.0 points and 9.7 rebounds to take down James and the Heat in six games.

MORE: How the Mavericks rebuilt their team at the trade deadline

Dwyane Wade and Dirk Nowitzki

(Getty Images)

How many NBA championships do the Mavericks have?

2011 is the Mavericks’ only championship in franchise history. Dallas has only been to the NBA Finals one other time.

In 2006, the Mavericks lost to a Wade and Shaquille O’Neal-led Heat squad in six games in the Finals. As you saw above, they got revenge for that loss in their second NBA Finals appearance in franchise history in 2011.

MORE: Does Mark Cuban still own the Mavericks?

History of Mavericks playoff runs

Since the Mavericks’ inception in 1980-81, they have made the playoffs 25 times in 44 seasons.

Dallas has six Western Conference Finals appearances and two NBA Finals appearances. It has 13 first-round playoff exits and six second-round playoff exits.

The Mavericks’ longest playoff drought was 10 years from 1990-2000. They have qualified for the playoffs in 19 of the last 25 seasons.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *