Indy 500 live updates, results, highlights from 2024 race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

It’s that time of year where drivers return to the Brickyard.

The 108th edition of the Indy 500 is set to arrive on Sunday — barring any issues with Mother Nature. And it has the potential to be a thrilling showdown.

Josef Newgarden will race in the top three a year removed from winning the 107th running of the Indy 500. NASCAR Cup Series winner Kyle Larson earned the fifth spot in the lineup after an impressive showing in qualifying. Scott McLaughlin won pole position for the race, a trend that has boded well for drivers this season — three of five pole position drivers have gone on to win their respective race.

Sporting News is tracking live results and highlights from the 2024 race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Follow for updates from the 2024 Indy 500.

STREAM: Watch the 2024 Indy 500 live with Fubo (free trial)

Indy 500 live updates, results, highlights from 2024 race

(All times Eastern).

4:39 p.m. — Drivers have been given the command to start their engines.

4:36 p.m. — Jim Cornelison is out to sing, “Back Home Again in Indiana.”

4:32 p.m. — Drivers might have to be keeping an eye on the clock. It appears the race could have a hard stop of 8:15 p.m. if it has not concluded 500 miles before then.

4:27 p.m. — The national anthem has wrapped up. The start of the race is approximately 11 minutes away.

4:18 p.m. — Pre-game ceremonies are now starting up.

3:48 p.m. — Driver introductions are underway. Everything is moving along on time according to the tentative schedule presented by NBC 30 minutes ago.

3:38 p.m. — Drivers are making their way out to the track. No umbrellas in sight.

3:18 p.m. — There is a tentative timeline for the start of the race:

  • 3:48 p.m.: Driver introductions
  • 4:16 p.m.: Pre-race ceremonies
  • 4:24 p.m.: National anthem
  • 4:35 p.m.: “Back Home Again in Indiana”
  • 4:37 p.m.: Drivers start your engines
  • 4:44 p.m.: Green flag at Indy 500

3:10 p.m. — NBC Sports analyst James Hinchcliffe gives a positive report about the track drying “quickly.” There has been no timeline listed for the race to start as efforts continue to get it ready.

See also  When is the last time Mavericks went to NBA Finals? History of Dallas’ championship appearances

2:31 p.m. — The dryers are out on the tracks as the race gets closer to starting.

2:07 p.m. — The weather advisory has been cleared at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Fans are returning to their seats with the rain calming down. No official timeline for a return.

1:54 p.m. — The NBC Sports broadcast noted 4:15 is the time Larson has to decide on whether he will race the Coca-Cola 600 or the Indy 500. The rain is letting up in Indianapolis, but the track drying will still take plenty of time when the rain finally stops.

1:15 p.m. — If you see the Indy 500 on your broadcast screen, don’t be deceived: it is a re-run of last year’s race. Estimates right now have the start of the Indy 500 as being around 4-4:30 p.m. ET.

12:57 p.m. — It is pouring in Indianapolis. No updates on when the race will begin.

12:37 p.m. — Lightning has been spotted in the area, so the shelter in place remains in effect.

12:22 p.m. — It has begun raining in Indianapolis. There has still been no word from IndyCar about when this race can officially start.

12:05 p.m. — Even if weather delays the start of the Indy 500 too much, Kyle Larson said he still plans to keep the focus on the Indy 500 over the Coca-Cola 600 in Charlotte.

11:40 a.m. — The start of the Indy 500 will be delayed because of lightning in the area, IMS announced about an hour and a half before the race was set to begin. Additional updates about the race and its ceremonies will be provided as they become available.

11:10 a.m. — Indianapolis Motor Speedway is monitoring storms in the area that could delay Sunday’s race. The National Weather Service reports that “multiple rounds of severe weather are possible Sunday.”

There is one storm cell IMS is motoring in particular, and the track’s No. 1 concern is about lightning that could come with the approaching storm, per The Athletic’s Jeff Gluck.

See also  Nuggets vs. Timberwolves schedule: Updated scores, results and bracket for 2024 NBA Playoff series

IMS president Doug Bolles said at his 6:20 a.m. ET news conference that the next couple of hours would determine a lot about the race. He also detailed IMS wouldn’t wait until the storm was “eight miles out” to delay the race, as they need to give spectators time to relocate in the event of a lightning delay.

“This is a challenging moment for all of us, but the most important thing is for us to keep all of our customers safe,” Bolles said.

The race was originally expected to begin at 12:45 p.m. ET. IMS thought about moving up the start of the race by 30 minutes but the latest storm cell prevented the track from doing that. Now, Bolles and Co. are considering whether to delay the race and its pre-race festivities until after the first storm passes.

“We hope once we get through this rain, we have a good opportunity on the backside of this to get the racing in,” Bolles said, per Gluck.

LIVE: Tracking Kyle Larson’s Indy 500-NASCAR double attempt

How to watch the Indy 500

  • Time: 12:45 p.m. ET
  • TV channel: NBC
  • Live streams: NBC Sports | Peacock | Fubo

Coverage of the 2024 Indy 500 starts at 11 a.m. ET on NBC. Drivers will be introduced at 11:47 a.m., “God Bless America” will be sung at 12:21 p.m., the national anthem will be sung at 12:24 p.m. and “Back Home Again in Indiana” will be sung at 12:36 p.m. ET. At 12:38 p.m., Roger Penske will give the command to start engines. Seven minutes later, the green flag will be waved to start the race.

See also  Las Vegas Raiders OTAs: Live updates, videos from second open practice

Those hoping to watch the race can find it on NBC. It will also be streamed on NBC Sports, Peacock and Fubo, which offers a free trial.

Indy 500 starting lineup

The complete starting lineup for this year’s Indy 500 lineup:

Position Driver Car No. Car make
1 Scott McLaughlin 3 Chevrolet
2 Will Power 12 Chevrolet
3 Josef Newgarden 2 Chevrolet
4 Alexander Rossi 7 Chevrolet
5 Kyle Larson 17 Chevrolet
6 Santino Ferrucci 14 Chevrolet
7 Rinus VeeKay 21 Chevrolet
8 Pato O’Ward 5 Chevrolet
9 Felix Rosenqvist 60 Honda
10 Takuma Sato 75 Honda
11 Kyle Kirkwood 27 Honda
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay 23 Chevrolet
13 Colton Herta 26 Honda
14 Alex Palou 10 Honda
15 Callum Ilott 6 Chevrolet
16 Marcus Armstrong 11 Honda
17 Ed Carpenter 20 Chevrolet
18 Kyffin Simpson 4 Honda
19 Marco Andretti 98 Honda
20 Helio Castroneves 6 Honda
21 Scott Dixon 9 Honda
22 Agustin Canapino 78 Chevrolet
23 Sting Ray Robb 41 Chevrolet
24 Christian Rasmussen 33 Chevrolet
25 Tom Blomqvist 66 Honda
26 Romain Grosjean 77 Chevrolet
27 Linus Lundqvist 8 Honda
28 Christian Lundgaard 45 Honda
29 Conor Daly 24 Chevrolet
30 Pietro Fittipaldi 30 Honda
31 Katherine Legge 51 Honda
32 Marcus Ericsson 28 Honda
33 Graham Rahal 15 Honda


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *