When is the Women’s College World Series? Start date, TV schedule & more for 2024 NCAA softball tournament

A 2024 softball champion will soon be crowned in Oklahoma. 

There are eight teams still alive in the hunt for a national championship at the Women’s College World Series. The field is led by the top two teams in the nation, No. 1 Texas and No. 2 Oklahoma. The Longhorns turned the tide on the softball rankings by winning a series against the Sooners earlier in the year, but the Sooners are winners of the past three national championships.

There is also all-time powerhouse UCLA and other prominent teams like Stanford, Oklahoma State and Alabama, which are all repeating as CWS teams from 2023. There’s also Florida, looking to win a title since claiming back-to-back in 2014-15, and Duke, a program that has only existed since 2018.

The Sporting News has everything you need to know about the 2024 Women’s College World Series, including dates, time, TV information and more:

MORE: Watch the 2024 Women’s College World Series live with Fubo (free trial)

When does the Women’s College World Series start in 2024?

  • Double-elimination: May 30 – June 3
  • Finals: June 5-7

The double-elimination portion of the Women’s College World Series, which will determine the last two teams to compete for the national championship, will take place May 30 to June 3.

The WCWS finals will take place from June 5-7.

NCAA softball tournament bracket 2024

Here’s a look at the super regionals bracket for 2024, which determined the final eight-team WCWS field:

  • No. 1 Texas vs. No. 16 Texas A&M 
  • No. 8 Stanford vs. No. 9 LSU 
  • No. 5 Oklahoma State vs. Arizona 
  • No. 4 Florida vs. Baylor 
  • No. 3 Tennessee vs. No. 14 Alabama
  • No. 6 UCLA vs. No. 11 Georgia 
  • No. 7 Missouri vs. No. 10 Duke 
  • No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 15 Florida State
See also  The NBA’s Tribute To Minimalist Art

MORE: Everything to know about 2024 WCWS teams

Women’s College World Series teams 2024

These eight teams advanced out of super regionals to the WCWS:

  • No. 1 Texas
  • No. 2 Oklahoma
  • No. 4 Florida
  • No. 5 Oklahoma State
  • No. 6 UCLA
  • No. 8 Stanford
  • No. 10 Duke
  • No. 14 Alabama

WCWS schedule 2024

Here is a game-by-game breakdown of the 2024 Women’s College World Series, with teams yet to be determined.

This section will be updated.


Date Game Time (ET) TV
Thursday, May 30 Game 1: No. 6 UCLA vs. No. 14 Alabama  Noon ESPN, Fubo
  Game 2: No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 10 Duke 2:30 p.m. ESPN, Fubo
  Game 3: No. 1 Texas vs. No. 8 Stanford 7 p.m. ESPN2, Fubo
  Game 4: No. 4 Florida vs. No. 5 Oklahoma State 9:30 p.m. ESPN2, Fubo
Friday, May 31 Game 5: Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser 7 p.m. ESPN2, Fubo
  Game 6: Game 3 loser vs. Game 4 loser 9:30 p.m. ESPN2, Fubo
Saturday, June 1 Game 7: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner 3 p.m. ABC, Fubo
  Game 8: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner 7 p.m. ESPN, Fubo
Sunday, June 2 Game 9: Game 5 winner vs. Game 8 loser 3 p.m. ABC, Fubo
  Game 10: Game 6 winner vs. Game 7 loser 7 p.m. ESPNU, Fubo
Monday, June 3 Game 11: Game 7 winner vs. Game 9 winner Noon ESPN, Fubo
  Game 12*: Game 11 rematch 2:30 p.m. ESPN, Fubo
  Game 13: Game 8 winner vs. Game 10 winner 7 p.m. ESPN2, Fubo
  Game 14*: Game 13 rematch 9:30 p.m. ESPN2, Fubo


Date Game Time (ET) TV
Wednesday, June 5 Game 1 8 p.m. ESPN, Fubo
Thursday, June 6 Game 2 8 p.m. ESPN, Fubo
Friday, June 7 Game 3* 8 p.m. ESPN, Fubo
See also  FA Cup semi final draw 2024: Complete fixture list, schedule, dates for matches at Wembley Stadium

* – If necessary

MORE: College softball super regionals scores, updated results

How does the Women’s College World Series work?

The Women’s World College Series is a microcosm of both the regional and super regional rounds, featuring double-elimination play and a best-of-three series.

The eight teams to advance to the Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla., will be divided into two brackets: Each consists of four teams that will compete in double-elimination play. Both brackets will start with two games producing two winners and two losers each; they will advance to the winners’ and losers’ brackets, respectively.

The teams that lost in the opening games of their respective brackets will face off, with the losers of those games being eliminated. The teams that beat them will then advance to play whichever teams lose from the opposing bracket’s winners’ game. Whoever loses that game will be eliminated, leaving two teams from each bracket — four total — remaining.

From there, the team advancing from its losers’ bracket will face off against the thus-far undefeated team from the winners’ bracket. To advance to the WCWS finals, the team from the losers’ bracket must beat the winners’ bracket team twice; the winners’ bracket team only has to win once.

The two teams that advance from their respective brackets will face off in a best-of-three series, with the first team to two victories declared the national champion.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *