Have the Panthers won a Stanley Cup? List of Florida’s playoff history, Stanley Cup Final appearances

Florida isn’t known as a hockey hotbed, but the sport continues to grow in the state. The NHL is becoming more and more popular in the south, thanks to the success of the franchises located in the region. 

One team looking to establish itself as a champion are the Panthers. 

Florida does not have a ton of extensive experience playing in the postseason. Since joining the league in 1993, the Panthers have missed the playoffs more often than not, but that doesn’t mean the team hasn’t come close to a ring. 


The Sporting News takes a look at the Panthers’ complete playoff history. 

When was the last time the Panthers won the Stanley Cup?

The Panthers have never won a Stanley Cup. Florida is one of 11 NHL clubs that have yet to hoist hockey’s most coveted trophy. 

In addition to the Panthers, the Coyotes, Sabres, Blue Jackets, Wild, Predators, Sharks, Jets, Senators, Canucks, and Kraken have never won a championship in NHL history. 

When was the last time the Panthers played in the Stanley Cup Final?

After defeating the Rangers in six games in the Eastern Conference Finals, the Panthers are returning to the Stanley Cup Final for the second year in a row.

In 2023, the Panthers made a Cinderella-like run to the finals series. After sneaking in as the second wild-card team, the Panthers knocked off the record-setting Bruins, the Maple Leafs and the Hurricanes before falling to the Golden Knights. 

MORE: Why do Panthers fans throw rats on the ice?

See also  English Premier League table 2023/24: Updated EPL standings as Arsenal edge back ahead of Liverpool

2024 will be their third time playing for a championship.

The first came in 1996 when the Panthers faced off against the Avalanche. Goaltender John Vanbiesbrouck carried the team in what was dubbed the Year of the Rat, bringing the third-year expansion club to the finals. However, Colorado swept Florida in four games to win the Stanley Cup. 

Panthers Stanley Cup playoff history

The Panthers’ playoff history is not very extensive. 

Florida has won more series (six) during its 1996 and 2023 runs to the Stanley Cup Final than every other season combined (one). The club’s first-round series win against the Capitals in 2022 was the franchise’s first since 1996. 

Here is a complete look at the Panthers’ playoff history. 

Season Result
2023-24 Reached Stanley Cup Final
2022-23 Lost in Stanley Cup Final
2021-22 Lost in Second Round
2020-21 Lost in First Round
2019-20 Lost in Qualifying Round
2018-19 Did not qualify
2017-18 Did not qualify
2016-17 Did not qualify
2015-16 Lost in First Round
2014-15 Did not qualify
2013-14 Did not qualify
2012-13 Did not qualify
2011-12 Lost in Conference Quarterfinals
2010-11 Did not qualify
2009-10 Did not qualify
2008-09 Did not qualify
2007-08 Did not qualify
2006-07 Did not qualify
2005-06 Did not qualify
2004-05 Season canceled due to lockout
2003-04 Did not qualify
2002-03 Did not qualify
2001-02 Did not qualify
2000-01 Did not qualify
1999-00 Lost in Conference Quarterfinals
1998-99 Did not qualify
1997-98 Did not qualify
1996-97 Lost in Conference Quarterfinals
1995-96 Lost in Stanley Cup Final
1994-95 Did not qualify
1993-94 Did not qualify
See also  Why was Russell Wilson benched? Explaining Broncos contract, injury guarantee behind controversial decision


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *