NASCAR lineup at Gateway: Starting order, pole for 2024 Enjoy Illinois 300 based on qualifying results

The NASCAR Cup Series heads to Gateway Motorsports Park hoping for a less stressful weekend after weather wreaked havoc on the Coca-Cola 600 one week ago. 

Last year’s Enjoy Illinois 300 was dominated by Kyle Busch, who won the pole Saturday and won the race Sunday in Madison, Illinois. The win came a year after Busch finished second at Gateway, so the veteran driver has put his name all over the event. Could he make Sunday’s race a highlight of what’s been a challenging season for him at times?

Christopher Bell, meanwhile, is looking to build off his second win of the season, a Coca-Cola 600 victory that propelled him to 11th in the season standings despite a string of poor finishes between the two victories. 

Busch and Bell both have reason for hope Sunday at Gateway, but neither won the pole Saturday.

Here’s a look at the complete qualifying results ahead of the Enjoy Illinois 300, including the pole winner and starting order.

MORE: Will Kyle Larson still be eligible for Cup Series playoffs?

Who won the Enjoy Illinois 300 pole for 2024?

Michael McDowell won the pole for the Enjoy Illinois 300 on Saturday, outlasting Team Penske’s Austin Cindric and Ryan Blaney. 

It’s McDowell’s third career pole and third of the season. The win also comes after McDowell revealed he will leave Front Row Motorsports at the end of the 2024 season.

“When it comes to qualifying, you just have to execute your plan. And I planned all week to do that, and I’m just going to execute my plan, right, wrong or indifferent,” McDowell told reporters after winning the pole. “And so I just committed to it. And fortunately, we’re on the right side of it.”

See also  Where to watch Dayton vs. VCU today: Live stream, TV channel, time for NCAA men’s college basketball game

Bell will be in the No. 4 position a week after winning the Coca-Cola 600, with Tyler Reddick rounding out the top five.

NASCAR Cup Series points leader Denny Hamlin will start sixth, while 2023 Enjoy Illinois 300 winner Kyle Busch is set to start 10th in Sunday’s race.

MORE: Why Stewart-Haas Racing is shutting down

Enjoy Illinois 300 starting lineup 2024

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
2 Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
3 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
4 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Tyler Reddick 45 23XI Racing
6 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 Brad Keselowski 6 RFK Racing
8 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
9 Ty Gibbs 54 Joe Gibbs Racing
10 Kyle Busch 8 Richard Childress Racing
11 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
12 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
13 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
14 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
15 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
16 Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse Racing
17 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
18 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
19 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
20 Carson Hocevar 77 Spire Motorsports
21 Justin Haley 51 Rick Ware Racing
22 Erik Jones 43 Legacy Motor Club
23 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
24 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
25 Derek Kraus 16 Kaulig Racing
26 Chris Buescher 17 RFK Racing
27 Noah Gragson 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
28 Daniel Hemric 31 Kaulig Racing
29 Josh Berry 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
30 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
31 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
32 Ryan Preece 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
33 John Hunter Nemechek 42 Legacy Motor Club
34 Cody Ware 15 Rick Ware Racing
35 Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports
36 Zane Smith 71 Spire Motorsports
See also  Landing On The Moon Isn’t Getting Any Easier


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *