89 days until kickoff: Every Minnesota Vikings player to wear 89

The Minnesota Vikings are entering their own version of the Final Countdown.

The 2024 season is upon us and the excitement is palpable. As we get through the offseason, everyone wants to see quarterback J.J. McCarthy in a Vikings uniform. It will signal a new era in Vikings football for many reasons.

General manager Kwesi Adofo-Mensah and head coach Kevin O’Connell are entering their third seasons in control of the Vikings and it’s crunch time. They now have the team shaped in their image and it’s going to be pivotal for their future to be successful in the next two seasons.

With 89 days until kickoff, here’s a look at every player to wear No. 89 with the Vikings (via Pro Football Reference):

Every Vikings player to wear No. 89

WR Thayer Thomas 2023-2024

The Vikings signed Thomas as an undrafted free agent after the 2023 NFL Draft. He stayed on the practice squad all year and is competing for a roster spot in 2024.

TE Jacob Hollister 2022

Hollister has played games in six NFL seasons and spent part of the 2022 season with the Vikings. He played in two games with the Vikings.

TE Chris Herndon 2021

The Vikings struck a trade for fourth-year tight end Herndon after final cuts. They sent a fourth-round pick for a sixth-round pick and Herndon and he didn’t produce. He caught just four passes for 40 yards and a touchdown in 16 games.

TE David Morgan 2016-2018

Morgan was a sixth-round pick of the Vikings in 2016. He became the blocking tight end of choice for the Vikings and played in 38 total games. He did catch 16 passes for 135 yards and a touchdown in his career.

See also  Who is in the College Football Playoff championship? Teams, odds & spread for 2024 CFP title game

TE John Carlson 2012-2013

The Minnesota native Carlson ended up playing two of his six NFL seasons with the Vikings. He only played in 27 games with 14 starts and caught 40 passes for 387 yards and a touchdown for the Vikings.

TE Allen Reisner 2011

Reisner spent two seasons with the Vikings and wore a different number in both. During his season wearing number 89, he caught one pass for five yards.

WR Robert Ferguson 2007-2008

A second-round pick of the Green Bay Packers, he is one of many former players to come to the Vikings. He spent just two seasons with the Vikings and 2008 was his final year in the NFL.

WR Travis Taylor 2005-2006

Taylor is a former first round pick of the Baltimore Ravens. He spent two of his eight seasons with the Vikings where he caught 107 passes for 1,255 yards and seven touchdowns.

TE Richard Owens 2004

Owens spent four seasons in the NFL, including the first three years with the Vikings. However, he wore 89 in just 2004.. He caught 16 passes for 132 yards and a touchdown during his Vikings tenure.

WR Kenny Clark 2003

Clark played at Central Florida, which was the alma mater of then quarterback Daunte Culpepper. He played in just one NFL season and only one game where he returned two kicks for 33 yards.

TE Matt Circone 2002

Circone played two seasons with the Vikings but only wore 89 in 2002.

WR Cedric James 2001-2002

James was a fourth round pick of the Vikings in 2001. He played in just five games for the VIkings and was a return man with 10 returns for 228 yards.

See also  Has Washington ever won a national championship in football? History of Huskies’ best seasons

WR Matthew Hatchette 1997-2000

Hatchette was quite the find for the Vikings in round seven of the 1997 NFL Draft. He caught a touchdown in the 1998 NFC Championship Game and caught 89 passes in four years as a Viking.

TE Andrew Jordan 1995-1997

Jordan was a sixth-round pick of the Vikings in 1994 and wore 89 for his final three seasons. He played a total of seven seasons for the Vikings, catching 97 passes for 763 yards and four touchdowns.

WR Olanda Truitt 1993

WR Joe Johnson 1992

WR Terry Obee 1991

WR Ira Hillary 1990

TE Paul Coffman 1988

WR Greg Richardson 1987

TE Ed Schenk 1987

DE Kelly Quinn 1987

WR Mike Jones 1983-1985

WR Harold Jackson 1982

DE Ken Sanders 1980-1981

WR Douglas Cunningham 1979

TE Doug Kingsriter 1973-1975

TE Robert Brown 1971

TE Kent Kramer 1969-1970

TE Bill Martin 1968

WR Jerry Reichow 1961-1964

Make sure to check out our home page every day for the best and latest Minnesota Vikings news and analysis.

[embedded content]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *