87 days until kickoff: Every Minnesota Vikings player to wear 87

The Minnesota Vikings are entering their own version of the Final Countdown.

The 2024 season is upon us and the excitement is palpable. As we get through the offseason, everyone wants to see quarterback J.J. McCarthy in a Vikings uniform. It will signal a new era in Vikings football for many reasons.

General manager Kwesi Adofo-Mensah and head coach Kevin O’Connell are entering their third seasons in control of the Vikings and it’s crunch time. They now have the team shaped in their image and it’s going to be pivotal for their future to be successful in the next two seasons.

With 87 days until kickoff, here’s a look at every player to wear No. 87 with the Vikings (via Pro Football Reference):

Every Minnesota Vikings player to wear No. 87

TE T.J. Hockenson 2022-2024

The Vikings traded for Hockenson at the trade deadline in the 2022 season. He came into Minnesota and blossomed into one of the best tight ends in the NFL but is unfortunately recovering from a torn ACL.

WR Myron Mitchell 2021

An undrafted free agent out of UAB, Mitchell played in just one game for the Vikings in 2021. That was his only NFL appearance. 

TE Hale Hentges 2020

Hentges played two seasons in the NFL with 12 games on his resume. He played in just one for the Vikings in 2020.

TE MarQueis Gray 2014

After playing quarterback at the University of Minnesota, Gray became at tight end in the NFL and played in five seasons. He was with the Vikings for eight games in 2014 and caught one pass for 16 yards.

See also  Make Space For The Artist

WR Bernard Berrian 2008-2011

Berrian was a starting wide receiver for the Vikings in the 2009 NFC Championship Game and thrived in Minnesota. He caught 138 passes for 1,925 yards and 11 touchdowns across his four seasons in purple and gold.

WR Marcus Robinson 2004-2006

Robinson was a solid player across nine seasons in the NFL spending his final three with the Vikings. He was infamously released on Christmas Eve by Brad Childress during the 2006 season after catching 107 passes for 1,553 yards and 17 touchdowns.

TE Byron Chamberlain 2001-2002

Chamberlain was a former seventh-round pick of the Denver Broncos and had his two most productive seasons with the Vikings. He caught 91 passes for 1,055 yards and three touchdowns in his two seasons with the Vikings.

TE Johnny McWilliams 2000

TE Carlester Crumpler 1999

TE Hunter Goodwin 1996-1998

TE Adrian Cooper 1994-1995

TE Mike Tice 1992-1993

Tice was in the NFL for 15 years as a tight end, including spending his last four years with the Vikings. He wore 87 in 1992 and 1993 and had 14 catches for 126 yards and two touchdowns in his career. He became a coach on the Vikings staff and was the head coach from 2002-2005.

TE Clifton Eley 1987

WR Kevin Miller 1978-1980

RB Clint Haslerig 1975

TE John Beasley 1967-1973

TE Gordie Smith 1961-1965

Make sure to check out our home page every day for the best and latest Minnesota Vikings news and analysis.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *