Who won Finals MVP in 2024? Full voting results, stats, list of NBA award winners

The Celtics are your 2024 NBA champions.

Boston capped off a dominant postseason with a gentleman’s sweep of the Mavericks in the 2024 NBA Finals. Behind the efforts of Jaylen Brown, Jayson Tatum, Jrue Holiday and more, the Celtics finished the job in Boston, securing a Game 5 win.

Boston rattled off a 16-3 playoff record, making for one of the most dominant runs in NBA history.

Raising the Larry O’Brien trophy with a true team effort, the title of Bill Russell Finals MVP could have gone to a couple of different Celtics.

Who ended up securing the honor? The Sporting News has you covered with the winner and voting splits below.

MORE: Key stats, highlights from Celtics-Mavericks Game 5 meeting in the 2024 NBA Finals

Who won NBA Finals MVP?

Jaylen Brown is your 2024 Finals MVP.

The first moment after receiving the honor, Brown praised his teammates and his co-star Tatum.

“It was a full team effort. I share this with my brothers. My partner-in-crime, Jayson Tatum. He was with me the whole way. We share this s— together.”

Brown played the best basketball of his career throughout Boston’s 2024 NBA Playoffs run. He averaged 20.8 points, 5.4 rebounds and 5.0 assists in the Finals, closing out Dallas with 21 points, eight rebounds and six assists.

His two-way impact on defending Luka Doncic cannot be overstated. He was the Celtics’ steadying hand throughout the series, knocking down a clutch jumper late in the fourth quarter to win Game 3.

See also  Tiger Woods ‘Sunday Red’: TaylorMade to bring back golfer’s iconic look after Nike split

After finally receiving the recognition he deserved by winning Eastern Conference Finals MVP, Brown has been crowned once again. He is a champion and NBA Finals MVP.

2024 Finals MVP voting

Brown earned seven Finals MVP votes to Tatum’s four. You can find the complete Finals MVP voting results below:

Why is Finals MVP named after Bill Russell?

In 2009, then-NBA commissioner David Stern announced that the Finals MVP trophy would be re-named after the player with the most championships in league history — Bill Russell.

“Who better to name this prestigious award for than one of the greatest players of all time and the ultimate champion,” Stern said at the time.

The interesting part is that Russell never won a Finals MVP because the award was introduced in 1969, the year he won his final NBA title as a player.

Despite Russell’s Celtics defeating the Lakers in the championship that season, the late, great Jerry West earned the first-ever Finals MVP award after averaging 37.9 points per game in the series. West is still to this day the only player to win Finals MVP on a losing team.

Complete history of Finals MVPs winners

Whoever wins the award will become the sixth player in Celtics history to win Finals MVP. They will join Paul Pierce, Larry Bird (2x), Cedric Maxwell, Jo Jo White and John Havlicek to receive the legendary honor.

See also  TCU women’s basketball cancels two games, opens tryouts due to player shortage

You can find the complete list of Finals MVPs below.

Year Player Team
2024 Jaylen Brown Boston Celtics
2023 Nikola Jokic Denver Nuggets
2022 Stephen Curry Golden State Warriors
2021 Giannis Antetokounmpo Milwaukee Bucks
2020 LeBron James Los Angeles Lakers
2019 Kawhi Leonard Toronto Raptors
2018 Kevin Durant Golden State Warriors
2017 Kevin Durant Golden State Warriors
2016 LeBron James Cleveland Cavaliers
2015 Andre Iguodala Golden State Warriors
2014 Kawhi Leonard San Antonio Spurs
2013 LeBron James Miami Heat
2012 LeBron James Miami Heat
2011 Dirk Nowitzki Dallas Mavericks
2010 Kobe Bryant Los Angeles Lakers
2009 Kobe Bryant Los Angeles Lakers
2008 Paul Pierce Boston Celtics
2007 Tony Parker San Antonio Spurs
2006 Dwyane Wade Miami Heat
2005 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
2004 Chauncey Billups Detroit Pistons
2003 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
2002 Shaquille O’Neal Los Angeles Lakers
2001 Shaquille O’Neal Los Angeles Lakers
2000 Shaquille O’Neal Los Angeles Lakers
1999 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
1998 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1997 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1996 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1995 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Rockets
1994 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Rockets
1993 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1992 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1991 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1990 Isiah Thomas Detroit Pistons
1989 Joe Dumars Detroit Pistons
1988 James Worthy Los Angeles Lakers
1987 Magic Johnson Los Angeles Lakers
1986 Larry Bird Boston Celtics
1985 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Los Angeles Lakers
1984 Larry Bird Boston Celtics
1983 Moses Malone Philadelphia 76ers
1982 Magic Johnson Los Angeles Lakers
1981 Cedric Maxwell Boston Celtics
1980 Magic Johnson Los Angeles Lakers
1979 Dennis Johnson Seattle SuperSonics
1978 Wes Unseld Washington Bullets
1977 Bill Walton Portland Trail Blazers
1976 Jo Jo White Boston Celtics
1975 Rick Barry Golden State Warriors
1974 John Havlicek Boston Celtics
1973 Willis Reed New York Knicks
1972 Wilt Chamberlain Los Angeles Lakers
1971 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Milwaukee Bucks
1970 Willis Reed New York Knicks
1969 Jerry West Los Angeles Lakers
See also  Jayden Daniels draft rumors: Tracking the latest news on LSU QB, from legit to smoke screen


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *