Who has won the most Copa America titles? Team records, most goals, appearances and where Lionel Messi stands

The Copa America holds the proud record of being the longest running continental tournament in world football, dating back to its inauguration in 1916.

The tournament had undergone plenty of changes and updates in the 100 years and more that have followed — including a name change from the South American Championship — with major expansions to include more teams from the CONMEBOL federation and its neighbors in CONCACAF.

Changes in format and greater global attention has elevated the Copa America to rival the European Championships as a major international tournament.

Teams from South America have dominated the majority of Copa America tournaments as the wait for a CONCACAF winner stretches on ahead of the 2024 tournament in the USA.

MORE: All the venues and host cities for the 2024 Copa America in USA

Which team has won the most Copa America titles?

Ahead of the 2024 Copa America, holders Argentina are tied with Uruguay as the joint most successful nation in the competition’s history, with 15 titles each.

Argentina won their first title since 1993 when they edged past Brazil in the 2021 final, and Uruguay’s most recent success came in 2011.

Brazil are third on the overall list, with nine titles, while Paraguay, Chile and Peru have two each.

Copa America title winners
Nation No. of Titles Years Won
Argentina 15 1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941,1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1991, 1993, 2021
Uruguay 15 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959, 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995, 2011
Brazil 9 1919, 1922, 1949, 1989, 1997, 1999, 2004, 2007, 2019
Chile 2 2015, 2016
Paraguay 2 1953, 1979
Peru 2 1939, 1975
Bolivia 1 1963
Colombia 1 2001
See also  Cristiano Ronaldo at the Euros: Stats, games, goals, wins, record at UEFA European Championship

Which player has won the most Copa America titles?

With Uruguay and Argentina dominating the list of most titles won, the list of players with the most individual Copa America winners’ medals is packed with players from the Uruguay side that won six tournaments from 1916 to 1926.

Angel Romano is the outright leader in terms of winners’ medals as he featured in all six of those aforementioned tournaments.

Most Copa America player titles
Name Nation No. of Titles Years Won
Angel Romano Uruguay 6 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926
Pascual Somma Uruguay 4 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923
Alfredo Zibechi Uruguay 4 1916, 1917, 1920, 1924
Hector Scarone Uruguay 4 1917, 1923, 1924, 1926
Jose Nasazzi Uruguay 4 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935

Which coach has won the most Copa America titles?

The pattern of success for either Uruguay or Argentina continues for coaches with multiple titles and Albiceleste legend Guillermo Stabile is the most successful coach in the competition’s history.

Stabile led Argentina to six Copa America titles between 1941 and 1957, with Juan Carlos Corazzo the only coach to win it with different nations, as he won it as part of bi-annual tournament in 1959 for both Argentina and Uruguay.

Most Copa America coach titles
Name Nation No. of Titles Years Won
Guillermo Stabile Argentina 6 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957
Juan Carlos Corazzo Argentina/Uruguay 3 1959, 1959, 1967
Alfio Basile Argentina 2 1991, 1993
Ernesto Figoli Uruguay 2 1920, 1926

Most Copa America goals and appearances

Lionel Messi is preparing for a record-breaking tournament in 2024 with the Argentina captain currently joint top of the all-time appearances list and five strikes away from the goal record.

See also  MLB All-Star jerseys, explained: Inside Nike’s Texas-inspired team uniform design for Midsummer Classic

Messi is tied with Chile’s Sergio Livingstone with 34 games played at the Copa America across six tournaments. 

The Inter Miami star also has 13 Copa America goals – level with Argentina legend Gabriel Batistuta – but the record stands at 17.

Most Copa America appearances
Name Nation No. of matches No. of tournaments
Sergio Livingstone Chile 34 6
Lionel Messi Argentina 34 6
Zizinho Brazil 33 6
Victor Ugarte Bolivia 30 4
Maximo Mosquera Peru 28 4
Most Copa America goals
Name Nation No. of goals
Norbert Martinez Argentina 17
Zizinho Brazil 17
Lolo Fernandez Peru 15
Severino Valera Uruguay 15
Pablo Guerrero Peru 14
Eduardo Vargas Chile 14
Lionel Messi Argentina 13
Ademir Brazil 13
Gabriel Batistuta Argentina 13
Jair Brazil 13
Jose Manuel Moreno Argentina 13
Hector Scarone Uruguay 13

When is the 2024 Copa America?

The 2024 Copa America kicks off June 20, 2024 with the final set for July 14.

Holders Argentina will feature in the tournament opener, after being automatically placed in Group A, with that game taking placed at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta.

Copa America 2024 schedule
Round Date(s)
Group Stage June 20 – July 1
Quarterfinal July 3-6
Semifinal July 9-10
Third Place Playoff July 13
Final July 14


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *