Tour de France standings 2024: Updated results, winners, jersey meanings for each stage

The 111th edition of the Tour de France is finally here as the world’s best road cyclists battle it out once again for the famous yellow jersey.

Starting Saturday, June 29, in Florence, Italy, and ending three weeks later on Sunday, July 21, in Nice, France, the group of riders will total 3,492km (2,170-mile).

Among the 22 teams competing are a host of talented riders all looking to leave their mark — Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) goes in pursuit of the Giro-Tour double, while Jonas Vingegaard (Visma-Lease a Bike) is the man tasked with defending his Tour title. 

The Sporting News is tracking the results from the 2024 Tour de France. Follow along with the stages below.

Tour de France standings 2024

General classification through Stage 1

Pos. Cyclist (Nationality) Time Back
1. Romain Bardet (FRA) 5:07:22
2. Frank van den Broek (NED) 5:07:22
3. Wout van Aert (BEL) 5:07:27 +5s
4. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) 5:07:27 +5s
5. Maxim Van Gils (BEL) 5:07:27 +5s

MORE: Tour de France 2024: Full schedule, stages, route, length, TV channel & live stream

Tour de France 2024 winners, results by stage

The 2024 Tour de France begins Saturday, June 29, in Florence, Italy, and lasts until Sunday, July 21, when it finishes Nice, France.

July 8 and July 15 are the riders’ only rest days during the mammoth task of completing the 3,492km (2,170-mile) race.

Follow along with the winners for each stage below.

Stage Date Length Location (type) Stage winner
1 June 29 206 km (128 miles) Florence to Rimini (hilly) Romain Bardet
2 June 30 199.2 km (123.8 miles) Cesenatico to Bologna (hilly)
3 July 1 230.8 km (143.4 miles) Piacenza to Turin (flat)
4 July 2 139.6 km (86.7 miles) Pinerolo to Valloire (mountain)
5 July 3 177.4 km (110.2 miles) Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne to Saint-Vulbas (flat)
6 July 4 163.5 km (101.6 miles) Macon to Dijon (flat)
7 July 5 25.3 km (15.7 miles) Nuits-Saint-Georges to Gevrey-Chambertin (individual time-trial)
8 July 6 183.4 km (114 miles) Semur-en-Auxois to Colombey-les-Deux-Églises (flat)
9 July 7 199 km (123.7 miles) Troyes to Troyes (hilly)
Rest day July 8
10 July 9 187.3 km (116.3 miles) Orleans to Saint-Amand-Montrond (flat)
11 July 10 221 km (137.3 miles) Evaux-les-Bains to Le Lioran (mountain)
12 July 11 203.6 km (126.5 miles) Aurillac to Villeneuve-sur-Lot (flat)
13 July 12 165.3 km (102.7 miles) Agen to Pau (flat)
14 July 13 151.9 km (94.3 miles) Pau to Saint-Lary-Soulan/Pla d’Adet (mountain)
15 July 14 198 km (123 miles) Loudenvielle to Plateau de Beille (mountain)
Rest day July 15
16 July 16 188.6 km (117.1 miles) Gruissan to Nimes (flat)
17 July 17 177.8 km (110.5 miles) Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux to SuperDevoluy (mountain)
18 July 18 179.5 km (111.5 miles) Gap to Barcelonnette (hilly)
19 July 19 144.6 km (89.8 miles) Embrun to Isola 2000 (mountain)
20 July 20 132.8 km (82.5 miles) Nice to Col de la Couillole (mountain)
21 July 21 33.7 km (20.9 miles) Monaco to Nice (individual time-trial)
See also  Russell Wilson landing spots: Falcons, Patriots among 2024 best fits for benched Broncos QB

What do the Tour de France jerseys mean?

There are four jerseys given to riders during the Tour de France, marking overall leaders and winners of certain classifications.

Yellow jersey

The yellow jersey is worn by the aggregate time leader at the beginning of a stage. For example, if one rider has the best time through three stages, he will wear the yellow jersey for the fourth stage. That means the winner of the Tour de France after all 21 stages always receives the yellow jersey, or the maillot jaune.

Polka dot jersey

The polka dot jersey is awarded to the rider who performs the best on the race’s grueling climbs. Known as “King of the Mountains,” the rider receives the jersey based on finishing with the highest number of points assigned from mountaintop checkpoints.

Green jersey

The green jersey is awarded to points classification winners. It’s considered the sprinter’s jersey, as more points are awarded in this case for flat stages. The winner of a flat stage will receive 50 points, whereas the winner of a “hilly” stage receives 30 and the winner of a “high mountain” stage receives 20. The top 15 finishers are traditionally awarded points, and points also can be accumulated during intermediate sprints in the middle of stages.

White jersey

The white jersey is awarded to the best finisher among riders aged 25 or younger. That means riders can win both the white jersey and the yellow jersey, and that’s exactly what Tadej Pogacar did in both 2020 and 2021.

See also  Fantasy Football Lineup Advice Week 16: Ace your start-or-sit decisions with RotoBaller’s “Who to Start?” tool


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *