MLS top goal scorer 2024: Updated Major League Soccer rankings as Lionel Messi aims for Golden Boot award

The 2024 MLS season is in full swing, and with that comes the opportunity for players to win the Golden Boot award come the end of the season.

The individual award is handed to the player who has scored the most goals in the league throughout the year, with assists as the tiebreaker should two players finish level at the top of the standings.

Last year saw LAFC forward Denis Bouanga win the Golden Boot after scoring 20 goals. He also contributed seven assists, making the Gabon international the third Black & Gold player to win the honor in the past five years, after Diego Rossi in 2020 and Carlos Vela in 2019.

This season is Lionel Messi’s first full season in MLS, and he is electrifying the league with his brilliance, with records falling at every turn. In the 6-1 thrashing of the New York Red Bulls in early May, Messi set new MLS marks for most goal contributions in a game with six, and most assists in a game with five.

Right alongside him at the top of the standings is his Inter Miami teammate and close friend Luis Suarez, who has been the biggest beneficiary of Messi’s creative magic.

While Messi is often regarded as the greatest player in the history of the game, the demanding United States domestic season promises numerous challenges, leaving the outcome wide open for any contender to seize.

MORE: Who will win the MLS Golden Boot? Preseason odds, predictions and more

MLS top goal scorer 2024: Updated rankings

The Sporting News will be updating the table below during every matchday of the 2024 MLS season through to the final matches.

See also  Mexico vs. Jamaica Copa America 2024 time, live stream, TV channel, lineups for Group B match

Updated on July 4, 2024

Rank Player Club Goals (PKs) Assists Games Minutes
1. Cristian Arango Real Salt Lake 16 (2) 11 21 1677
2. Christian Benteke D.C. United 14 (2) 2 18 1555
3. Denis Bouanga LAFC 13 (5) 9 20 1793
= Mateusz Bogusz LAFC 12 (0) 5 20 1694
= Dejan Joveljic LA Galaxy 12 (1) 5 19 1358
= Lionel Messi Inter Miami 12 (1) 13 12 1035
= Luiz Suarez Inter Miami 12 (0) 5 16 1156
8 Dániel Gazdag Real Salt Lake 11 (3) 2 17 1420
= Andrés Gómez Real Salt Lake 11 (4) 9 20 1575

Past MLS Golden Boot Winners

Prior to 2005, Major League Soccer used a point system to award its Scoring Champion, but since 2005 they have awarded a more traditional Golden Boot for the league’s top scorer.

Year Player Team Goals
2023 Denis Bouanga LAFC 20
2022 Hany Mukhtar Nashville SC 23
2021 Valentin Castellanos NYCFC 19
2020* Diego Rossi LAFC 14
2019 Carlos Vela LAFC 34
2018 Josef Martinez Atlanta United 31
2017 Nemanja Nikolic Chicago Fire 24
2016 Bradley Wright-Phillips NY Red Bulls 24
2015 Sebastian Giovinco Toronto FC 22
2014 Bradley Wright-Phillips NY Red Bulls 27
2013 Camilo Sanvezzo Vancouver 22
2012 Chris Wondolowski SJ Earthquakes 27
2011 Dwayne De Rosario D.C. United 16
2010 Chris Wondolowski SJ Earthquakes 18
2009 Jeff Cunningham FC Dallas 17
2008 Landon Donovan LA Galaxy 20
2007 Luciano Emilio D.C. United 20
2006 Jeff Cunningham Real Salt Lake 16
2005 Taylor Twellman NE Revolution 17

*2020 MLS season was shortened to 23 matches due to COVID-19 pandemic


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *